Coloring

in #life6 years ago

Being back at work today after the three day weekend was a major drag.


I am sure I am not alone in this, but the first day back to work after any vacation I am always:

  • Impatient.
  • Kind of cranky.
  • Annoyed with ALL work related tasks.
  • Wondering if there is any job in the universe that would leave me feeling satisfied.
  • Contemplating what it would be like to run away somewhere touristy and tropical full time, where I might run my own surf shack, captain a sunset booze cruise or work at a manatee rescue... ☺️

🌊 🏄🏻‍♀️ 🌞 🏖 🌴 🍹 ⛵️ 🐳

Tonight was a quiet one at home. Which honestly was a nice balance to my self induced angst. I made tacos for dinner, and after instead of watching TV the hubs and I colored.

Yes, I did say COLORED.

I’ve had coloring books since before coloring became this hot new fad for adults. A little quiet coloring is a great way to unwind. However, tonight’s coloring was both relaxing and competitive...

A3833423-D889-432D-84C2-B575EC37C93C.jpeg
The “canvas”.

The band the Mighty Mighty Bosstones are having a coloring competition to coincide with the June 15th release of their upcoming album.

The three winning submissions will be shared on the band’s social media accounts and will win one of the following prizes:

GRAND PRIZE
• 2 VIP passes to each of this year’s Hometown Throwdown shows (dates TBA) includes sound check access

• Three nights hotel (double occupancy) near Boston’s House of Blues to coincide with the Hometown Throwdown

• Professional Holiday card-worthy photo shoot on the Throwdown stage with the band

• Hometown Throwdown swag bag stuffed with signed event posters and merch

SECOND AND THIRD PRIZE
• 2 VIP tickets for the Cranking & Skanking Fest Worcester, MA on August 25 including a backstage BBQ hang with the band
SOURCE

My husband LOVES the Bosstones and would be super excited to win any of these prizes (though we do already have tickets to Cranking & Skanking Fest). So, not only did I get a little me time tonight with the crayola markers, I also did an “Act of Service” for the hubs.

2AED9547-F224-46CE-BB2F-C705E4016601.jpeg
I started with a little flower power. 🌸

D4BFA5A5-E402-443F-91BE-EFD9A7A0F085.jpeg
Adding more color to the mix.

8EE2C68B-C6B9-4231-96E4-81069D860AED.jpeg
So far I have only used markers, but I am thinking of adding some colored pencil.

As you can see I still have a ton of coloring to go, but I am looking forward to doing a bit more tomorrow.


Do you have any random hobbies that help you relax after a rough day at work?

Thanks for reading!


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa and steemsilvergold
E53FCD69-6BB1-480A-826D-3D190577C73F.jpeg
044D21FF-8D02-42A3-82C9-FB81000EEB04.jpeg
B516C465-3760-436B-8D72-E1B5C74E4A53.png
25502CF9-5AFD-468E-B945-F88B2443B3C4.png

Sort:  

As a retired man, I don't have these problems, but when I was a working man I used to play bridge to relax or simply reading fantasy books.

Ahhh retirement. I think retirement should start at 45. 😄

I used to read a lot, but have had a real attention span problem maybe the past 9 years. I blame the internet. ☺️ For a few years I played a ton of Soduku before bed to relax. I am glad I stopped. That was less relaxing and more just distracting my mind from whatever stresses had happened in the day.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold