Wellness Goals

in #life4 years ago (edited)

IMG20180314141303_2.jpg

One of the perks of living on an island is being able to easily get into wellness stuff. There are a lot of opportunities around here that motivate people to get back into shape. Thankfully our lockdown has been lifted so there's no excuse anymore. I guess being surrounded by nature can inspire you to embrace a healthy lifestyle. Nature makes you think of relaxation, meditation, and rejuvenation. If I'm still living in a big city, I won't even think of going out for a long walk or something. I would be too busy in my go-go-go get-get-get urban lifestyle.

Some people even travel to far-flung destinations just to take the first steps on the road to wellness. They spend a lot of money to get away from all the chaos of modern life. And I am just here. I guess I was too preoccupied before this whole pandemic thing that I just started paying attention now. So I look around to see what I've been missing the whole time. Then I found this place close to the beach offering wellness retreat and yoga classes. I've been living in this area for quite some time now and never really thought of trying it. Maybe because I have all these worries and negativity in my mind. Finally, I decided today is the day to go out and do some classy stretching.

The first time I tried yoga was when I was volunteering in this alternative lifestyle community in Brazil. I was there for two weeks doing all sorts of things for the community, from gardening to painting. At first, it felt like being part of a cult though I understand that the residents chose this new way of life. It just felt weird I guess but anyway I was just there to spend more time in the region and meet new people. The community had this afternoon Yoga session for volunteers. It was fun doing it with my new friends until I had this very embarrassing moment that resulted from too much stretching.

Years later, here I am now, giving Yoga a second chance. Why not? So I went out and drove to this wellness place not too far from my place. I guess people are still scared to go out these days so it was just me and the Yoga instructor on a one on one session. And this was perfectly fine. She is nice and I feel comfortable with her. So all this negativity about yoga quickly dissolved as I breathed. The stress and worries started to go away for a moment. This is not that hard I thought or maybe I am still in this beginner-level or something. But I am liking it so far.

The struggle to quite my mind was still there the whole time though. I was sitting still yet my mind was racing and wandering around. All this what should I blog about today, who will be coming here in the next session, how was the traffic out there? All this mental noise that took me away from the moment. But as soon as I heard my yoga teacher's reminder to stay present, I started concentrating on my breathing. It felt like calming my mind was a bit more of a work than striking a yoga pose.

Honestly, my life had been a hot mess lately. This pandemic has something to do with it. You know losing business, being jobless, getting out of toxic relationships, and all. But that's just the unpredictability of life as we know it. I seriously need to do something about my physical and mental health just so not to get carried away in these uncertain times. I've been all alone in my thoughts most of the time and not have the energy to talk to anyone. It just takes too much effort lately. I guess change starts from within. I figure I need to start taking care of myself even more from now on. I need to recognize where I am right now physically, mentally, and emotionally so I know which path to take to wellness. Because when you've finally realized that enough is enough, it's time to start from the bottom and work your way up. I realized that there's no other way out of this chaos but to love myself more. There's only Me here so all this love should reflect on my mind, body, and soul. I'll start here and now.

Sort:  

Awesome! Successful meditation isn't about pushing out your thoughts, it's about not engaging with them or grabbing on to them so they can be released until eventually there is nothing left but the present moment.

I still feel a little bit unpleasant about yoga though cause my body doesn't do what i tell it to do and seems to take longer to get used to things than most people. Working on it!

Yo! I'm so happy you are here now!

Working on it!

Same here!

Yo! I'm so happy you are here now!

Oh yeah finally here! I'm back!!!!

I practiced yoga for about five years and I tell you that the struggle to quiet the mind can still be present even after years of practice. Meditation can make miracles but it takes time with that as well. Curious what poses do they teach you in your first class.

The yoga instructor mentioned something but I forgot. But the postures were not really that hard.

I think quite a few of us is in a hot mess and if you can find solace in something, by all means. A pandemic, a business loss, a toxic relationship is already tough enough to deal with if it was only one of them but all 3 that takes some serious stamina! I hope the Yoga will help and be your first step to something better

We're on literal global pandemic so I won't punish myself anymore for being in a hot mess.

I hope the Yoga will help and be your first step to something better

Hopefully, thanks!

I can't get enough of these personal stories plus it's pretty easy for me to relate to you, having isolated myself a number of times ( the most extreme was 6 and a half months on El Hierro, Canary Islands, even though it wasn't complete isolation - I was there trying to make an indie movie )

Not sure if you're on discord or if you know about the Natural Medicine / Mindful life community. I can't help but think that your content is a perfect fit and you'r more than welcome.

You can find links to the above underneath my write up from yesterday

💚

I think artists need some isolation to produce their work of art.

Sounds like a perfect community. I will check more on your posts in a bit!

I think artists need some isolation to produce their work of art.

This sure helps but it can also lead to an unhealthy amount of isolation ( been there, done that ), in the end it's all about balance but balancing isn't easy ( let alone for a Libra like me who's half of a twin haha )

🤗

Yeah finding a balance can be hard sometimes. We humans tend to lean to the extreme side.

We sure are extreme creatures hahaha

Congratulations @diabolika! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Beautiful picture! 😎