My experience practicing yoga

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My experience practicing yoga


IMG_20180814_181946.jpg


But first...

What is yoga?

I will show you a definition that I found in an article written by Hannah Nichols on April 29, 2016 for MedicalNewsToday.

''Yoga is a mind and body practice with historical origins in ancient Indian philosophy. Various styles of yoga combine physical postures, breathing techniques, and meditation or relaxation.'' Fuente


Hello!

Greetings to all, today I come to tell you how it was my experience doing Yoga for the third time. I admit that my passion is to train with weights; but I also think it's good to try different disciplines, so I decided to enter a class dictated by my friend, Layda Guzmán.

Yoga is composed of many postures, I did not know their names. However, with the development of the class I was learning. It takes a lot of concentration and delicacy to perform the movements. I like how it is possible to combine meditation, breathing work and stretching muscles in the same discipline.

It turns out to be very relaxing, and it is important to emphasize that it takes a lot of practice to make some postures, it is a progressive work. However, there are "levels" that adapt according to the capabilities of the individual.


I tell you...

At the beginning of the class, each of the participants selected their place, while the instructor positioned herself at the front to dictate the instructions.

IMG_20180814_171836.jpg


We start!

We made the previous heating making four greetings to the sun, made up of different postures as they are: half moon, high lunge, standing forward bend, the cobra and others.

Then, we started the class as such, we executed other postures, I remember the name of some of them: bridge on shoulders, cat pose, extended puppy pose and warrior. At first it was difficult for me, I do not consider myself a very flexible person; but then I got the rhythm and I could do better.

There are people who underestimate yoga, and this is a discipline that needs a lot of practice, strength, elasticity and concentration. We attended four people to the class, two were more experienced, while my friend and I were the most novice haha.

Layda directed us to perform the postures that had more difficulty, and taught us the different ways of doing them, we did them to where our body did not allow them.


I show you some postures:


- Upward plank pose made by Layda


IMG_20180814_175540.jpg


- Plow pose made by me


IMG_20180814_181300.jpg


- Bridge pose made by me


IMG_20180814_181351.jpg


I could not take so many pictures because I dedicated myself to enjoy the class, I was very focused and willing to learn. It is possible to obtain a very interesting spiritual connection. The hour passed very fast, we were 5:00 p.m. until 6:00 p.m. practicing, the temperature was warm; but the atmosphere was nice.

One of the last positions was '' lotus with suspension'' and it should be noted that it was very difficult for me to do it, I hope that thanks to the practice I can execute it soon. The class ended with a few minutes of meditation, with closed eyes in total tranquility.

The instructor recommends that Yoga be performed at least once a week, so that the muscles are extended, especially for high-performance athletes and those who do weight training.


IMG_20180814_180809.jpg


IMG_20180814_180657.jpg


It was an excellent experience and I am determined to practice Yoga once a week to release the tensions of the body and stretch the muscles. Try new things takes us out of our comfort zone, distract from the routine bringing new learning and experiences. In addition, I have the advantage that in the gym where I attend these classes are included in the monthly payment. And without thinking twice, I invite you to try this discipline, you will not regret it.

The instructor practices Yoga since 2016 and made a certification that lasted one year. In it, he was able to constantly practice the postures until he could execute them with ease and in a correct way. This has been all for today, I hope you liked the information that I shared with you.


Say goodbye, Diana.
Images: Own.
Text: Own.

Sort:  

lol yoga help as to become fit and reduce blood pressure and colestrol keep posting new yoga posts

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dianacsb from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.