My first week of internships

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Diseño sin título.png


My first week of internships


Hello!

Greetings to the entire steemit community, I have been a little lost because I have had problems with the internet and little inspiration. Then I started my internships haha, but calm, I returned. I confess that the first day I wanted to run, but I have been adapting little by little. It is very different to leave the classroom aside and be in the workplace. I chose a local television channel, called TV COL, to fulfill this requirement, as well as learn and gain experience.

Previously, I had visited the channel for short-term internships, on this occasion, it is my job to complete three months of work.


My first visit to the channel:

James& Katie (4).png


I am studying the tenth semester of Audiovisual Journalism at the University of Zulia (LUZ) in Venezuela. To finish, I only have my degree project, which is an audiovisual production about feminism and internships.
He commented in others that my true passion is to be a trained staff, healthy food and everything related to nutrition. In the channel they gave me the opportunity to link these two branches, and they assigned me a section called '' Feel good '', where I can talk about health issues in general. This causes me great emotion.

Among the activities carried out is related to regional news, national, international and celebrity on the web, because it only has reporters at the local level. Then, we proceed to make the script and the visuals that will appear on the screen as support material for each news item. All this was broadcast on the newscast at 12:00 p.m.

Another of my tasks has been to monitor national channels to capture news of last minute or national chain. I do not have much knowledge to edit videos, I know the basics, my partner is responsible for performing these tasks. Always make an audiovisual production for the day's day.


On Thursday I had to go out to the street to look for local news with the cameraman, Jesus, and Zaimar, the journalist. It was a very pleasant experience, we had several guidelines assigned, we left from 9:00 a.m. to go through the streets of the Cabimas municipality in search of the news.


James& Katie (6).png


First we visited the street '' Black Posts'' of the sector Santa Clara to meet the call of a community that had problems due to an oil spill in the area. On the asphalt oil was observed, and even this began to emerge in two neighboring houses. The inhabitants called on the authorities to solve this problem, also commented that this has happened on other occasions.


James& Katie (5).png


James& Katie (7).png


Then we went to the sector ''Corito'' where the inhabitants of the area made a claim to the mayor of the municipality because they have not received potable water through the pipes in 6 months, they stressed that before they never lacked this service. But that at present, they do not receive this vital fluid.

They wait for the rains with eagerness to collect water for their homes, they took the opportunity to denounce that the tankers do not pass through that sector and that they do not want to sell the water for pipes, but they want to sell the entire capacity of the truck, what represents an extra expense that can not pay, because it is very expensive.


James& Katie (8).png


They are very affected by this problem, they are tired of loading containers, of moving to illegal fillers in order to obtain water. Some have seen the need to build canals in their homes to facilitate the collection of rainwater.

Similarly, they reported that they do not have telephone service or internet in the area. Also, they suffer from electric rationing in some occasions and from other faults that have damaged some electrical devices.
In these two guidelines I was in charge of taking note of the problem and important information about the people who gave their statements, while Zaimar carried out interviews with the citizens.


James& Katie (9).png


The third guideline of that day was in the bank, where seniors queued to collect their pension, they were upset because they were only canceling 100 bs S. in cash and they were charged 450 bs. S., likewise complained about the slowness of the process. Some of them got up early in the outskirts of the bank to collect their money and felt cheated by not receiving the full payment.

I was in charge of carrying out the interviews that would be shown on the screen as part of the news program at 12:00 p.m. , I had the opportunity to experience for myself the experience of being a reporter. It was an excellent opportunity and I was able to develop in a good way. Older adults were receptive and willing to give statements.


James& Katie (11).png


One man commented that he did not have a debit card, because the bank did not have the material to give him one, so his only way to get the money is by withdrawing it in cash and thanks to the restrictions he found it difficult to do so. In other opportunities to avoid discomfort, he preferred to transfer his money to his wife's account, if he has a debit card, in order to spend his money and cover some of his needs.


This has been a summary of my first week as an intern in the local media, Tv col, I appreciate the opportunity very much. I am willing to enjoy and learn from this experience.

One of my closest friends, Ricardo, is doing the internships with me on the channel. This is a great advantage, it helped me to adapt faster and I know that I always count on your support.


James& Katie (10).png


My favorite day was when I was able to go out to the street to look for the news as a whole reporter, that contact with people. Listening to their problems and needs is a job I like, giving them the opportunity to report the various irregularities that occur in the municipality Cabima; I hope to continue enjoying my career as an intern during the remaining weeks.


Text: Own.
Images: Own, taken with my Alcatel One Touch X + phone.
Diana says goodbye.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dianacsb from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.