How awful things in life can make you stronger

in #life6 years ago

Yes, my dad would have turned 64 today but I will never forget. It was 24 June 1988, I was 10 years old. My father came home and walked up to me and said “ we are going to the final ” . I couldn’t believe what he was saying but it was true. We had been talking about it for a few days but my Nephew Jeff Houwers had been able to get hold of tickets for the European Championship final in München. Dad, are we really going? Yes, Didi, we are driving tomorrow morning and will watch the final, win it, celebrate, sleep there and drive back the day after. I still couldn’t believe my ears because you need to understand my father had been a professional football player and my biggest dream was to become one too.

johnnytaihuttu.jpg

The Dutch team that time was filled with superstars like Ruud Gullit, Marco van Basten, Frank Rijkaard, and Ronald Koeman. I was shocked and thrilled that I was going to see them playing the Final. I couldn’t sleep all night of excitement and yes I was also happy I could skip school for two days. I remember asking my dad, what about school? He answered, when you want to be a professional football player this is school and this will probably only happen ones in our lifetime.

So the next day we drove to München. It was a fun ride and all the Dutch champion songs where already played in the car. We talked a lot about football and that we where going to win from the Soviet Union. Yes the USRR had a good team but dad was sure we were going to beat them because we had a great coach Rinus Michels. We arrived at the Stadium, which was situated in a huge park. The atmosphere was amazing and dad bought me a Dutch team shirt, a shawl, and a flag. Man, this day was already perfect for me. Everybody was singing and the atmosphere was unbelievable. It was one big orange dutch army, hahaha.

It was time and we were able to enter the stadium. It was a huge stadium partly covered with a glass roof. We had great seats, behind the duck outs under the glass roof. It was really exciting and my dad was really passionate about football so watching a game with him was like sitting next to a reporter that continuously was analyzing the match. His favorite saying when somebody didn’t score was ” my grandma would have scored that goal on one leg” hahaha. As you all know we won the final with amazing goals from Ruud Gullit and Marco van Basten. I have never seen someone put that much power in a header goal like Ruud did and the Goal from Marco was almost impossible to score with a volley from that angle.

We sang and celebrated the final for a few hours and then went to a hotel where I could go to bed and dad was able to party some more downstairs in the bar with my uncle, aunt, Jeff, and all the other Dutch supporters. When we drove home my father told me the story that in the time he played professionally for VVV he played against Ruud Gullit. Ruud was young that time and dad told me I sat on Ruud Gullit's lap after the game. You can imagine how I felt hearing that. Man the trip was amazing and one of the special happenings in my life.

These are the days I remember on a day like today when it's my fathers birthday. He would have turned 64 today and man I wished I could have watched many more games with him together but things happen in life. I just try to focus on the beautiful memories like the one I just shared with you and hope that he and mom are having a huge party somewhere up there. Happy birthday Dad and thanks for giving me these amazing memories and I will make sure I will give my kids the same kind of memories 🙏🏼

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! You just pushed me into memory lane thinking about all the great memories I have remembering my parents.