My Knives - #04 Gyuto 01

in #life6 years ago

This is my latest beauty from the last batch. She's leaving for a new home tomorrow, but this time I had the time to do a proper photo session.

This one is really special for me for two reasons:

  1. All the materials in the handle were gifts from people dear to me.
  2. The abanos, or bog oak, is pretty unique: it was a gift from my college professor, and since he's into dendroarchaeology all the pieces in the gif bag were carbon dated :)

I won't bother you with text just the basic stats and the pics.

Gyuto in 1095 – differential heat treatment – hamon
Length 250/OA 410 in mm
High 60mm at the heel
Handle: stabilized/died maple burl, Corian, two-tone abanos (bog oak) carbon dated at 3400BP

2.jpg
7.jpg
12.jpg
15.jpg
18.jpg
20.jpg
22.jpg
24.jpg

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comment section.

Thank you for your support, and see you soon.

Sort:  

This looks like it would be really good for cutting up treats for me :D

All my knives come with a "certificate of authenticity" and a "K9 approved treats cutter certificate".

Excellent!

I think it's beautiful , love the details
I'm pretty sure it's more beautiful in person

Thank you so much. Yep, it's really hard to capture the real look with an amateur photo setup like the one I've got.

I mean you really did fine with the pic , but it's another thing to put it in your hand and get the feel of the balance and the grip of the wood handle really appreciate your work .
Resteemed

Thank you, and tnx for the resteem. There is nothing that can replace the feeling of touch when concerning knives.

Just realized your page no your passion is working with knifes so you can bet that you will be seeing me around more hahaha

Your the one who made the knife for wranglestar very cool knifes

I don't think so, but thank you ;)

Looks good! The only kitchen knife I have made so far is a cleaver.

I mainly make small fixed blades in the E.D.C category of knife making. I just followed you...look forward to future posts!

Hey, another fellow knife maker!
Glad to have you onboard. Let me know if you need any help getting around.
Looking forward to seeing more of your knives.

Thanks man! I'm brand new on here so any tips would be greatly appreciated!

I'll definitely be posting more of my work on here. Seems like the platform of the future! :)

steady me hungry to see it hehe

That's my goal in life - to make you hungry :)

hehehe you love one plate for me

that handles stunning, real clean looking finished piece

Thanks Rob, much appreciated!

Thats a pretty knife! and a very bold, beautiful and clear hamon. Who is the lucky owner of such a special knife?

Thank you, it was a brutal brine quench - hence such a sharp hamon. As for a new owner, my fan from Germany - that's actually the 2nd one that went to him.

Very beautiful! Hamon is amazing!
Very compliment for your job
A greeting, Nicola

Thank you Nicola, coming from you this means so much.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

Hi. Welcome to the plateform. I found always ur good posts. Follow me for interesting post

Don't spam - you won't get anything from it...

This post has received gratitude of 4.56 % from @appreciator thanks to: @docsmith.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 6.74% vote... I was summoned by @docsmith! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post has received a 6.16 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @docsmith

You got a 1.41% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @docsmith!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.