Christmas Up Down Under - Family, Food and Farmland Fun!

in #life6 years ago (edited)
One time a year there's a marvelous night,

When enchantment and wonder spark and take flight.
Each home fills with joy on this grand holiday,
With hearts growing warm in a magical way.
The rooms are all covered with garlands and wreaths.
The mantle is ready, with stockings beneath.
Lights twinkle and glow and bells brightly chime.
The moment's arrived! It's here! Christmas time.
Three precious gifts lie under this tree,
What secrets they hold? Let's look. And we'll see.
The first tells a story for us all to hear...
About laughter and family and those we hold dear.
We love Christmas so much we want it to stay,
But what if we wished it was here every day?

Mickey's Once Upon A Christmas, November 9, 1999.

Crazy Czech's, Farmland Fun and A Whole Lot of Pun! Enjoy My Post-Christmas, Christmas Post!


As the curtains draw to another year, we take time to paws and reflect, enjoying some precious moments with our loved ones. Unfortunately, not everyone can be with us anymore, but their spirits forever live on and their vibration will flow through our celebrations. We will all meet up again soon! Luckily, there are some that we can still hold in this realm. Appreciate it.

Anyways, as a Czech, our family celebrates Christmas on the Eve. We do a nice dinner, which for us, traditionally consists of prawn cocktails, knedlo vepřo zelo (dumpling, roast pork, sauerkraut), schnitzel and potato salad. Wash it down with a cold Pilsner Urquell and you're set. Post-feeds, we all sit around the Christmas tree and the youngest (unless infant) distributes the presents. This year was peaceful; less madness often witnessed in a Czechoslovakian household.

I didn't take many photos, which I'm kind of bummed about, but enjoy the flick of my boy Rufus and his fresh new toy!

Christmas Day, Spent in Padthaway!

Feels good waking up from a lovely long sleep, or food coma, don't really remember. Today I packed my bags and headed up (which I'm always corrected to down) to Padthaway to visit my partner's family.

Over the hill, and to Padthaway #fivelittleducks

!steemitworldmap -36.5934617 lat 140.3818125 long Padthaway, SA. d3scr


Padthaway is a small town in the Australian state of South Australia located in the state's south-east within the Limestone Coast region about 253 kilometers (157 miles) south east of the state capital of Adelaide. The name is derived from the Potawurutj, the Aboriginal name for Good Water. Padthaway is in the Tatiara District Council, the state electorate of MacKillop and the Federal Division of Barker.

Beats, banter, and 3 hours later, we had arrived at their lovely country home. I was greeted to this amazing setup. Not only was the presentation flawless, they had a juicy looking Christmas ham. I've never actually had one before. With the ham, we also had turkey, veggies, mustard fruits and some extra stuffing mixed with nuts. Living in the wine region, and being winemakers themselves, you could only guess that we had beautiful wine (and beers) to complement the food. Bottles UP!



YUM! What's next? Prezzies! HOLD UP! Each year they choose new baubles for the tree and they must be put up! The brothers had a chili and a lobster, my partner had a seal, and I got to put up a jester, not sure if they're trying to say something...

In this household, dad plays Santa and gives out all the presents. It was nice to see what they all got for each other, and although I wasn't expecting anything, I was gifted a few presents which was heart-warming and inclusive.

After the excitement of food and presents, everyone was really keen to chill. I took this opportunity to roam around the property and indulge in the fresh air. We also had a chance to take the doggies out to play. MEET BARRY!

26142853_10215201907065460_498204584_o.jpg

Lets Play Rachel's Zoo

My partner and I stayed in our own little cottage on the farm which was surrounded with life. It had a very vintage feel to it; however it was very well maintained. A lovely old organ and fireplace, although the weather was more suited for a cork hat and mortein with the amount of flies around. Think I actually yelled out 'CRIKEY' when I tried stepping outside! :")


We had sheep surrounding the paddock, which I BAAArely got to meet.

There was even a little foxie,
which came for a greet.
There were rabbits and parrots,
cockatoos and roos, all in among,
Rachel's Zoo :P


Handstand Dan

The outdoors brought the free spirit out of me! The stars at night were OH' so dreamy, better appreciated through the lens of a naked eye.

We also made a quick trip out to Robe. Indulging on fresh fish and chips and driving on the beach. My inner yogi came out there too :P

Czech out this view! ;)


Long Beach, South Australia

The following day we drove back down (up) to Adelaide and it's back to business as usual (until NYE). Overall, I had a wonderful Christmas break, spending time with both my own and my partners family. Sorry for the very belated post and poor editing skills.

Rachel and I hoping you had a wonderful Christmas and wishing you all a safe new years!


us.jpg

xx

Sort:  

Seeing the awesome straight road makes me want to go some where again!!

On the road again 🎧 So many places to choose from on our beautiful land! Where to next?!

The text-pulls aren't like they were on the editor. Sorry for the untidiness. :(

Beautiful stretch of countryside down there.
I spent the big one, NYE 1999-2000 in Robe.
I had a sneaker for a pillow. Don't know who's tent it was.
Great panorama shots. We sure live in a beautiful place :)

That would of been booming! Long beach looks prime for a NY party.
Didn't expect any less from you! Pro-tip, buy a goonsack, makes for a good pillow at the end of the night and beats a shoe!
Glad to call Australia home :)

Great call. Combining night swimming and alcohol would be a terrible idea were it not for the flotation assistance, and highly reflective rescue chopper signalling qualities of the humble goon sack.

You just blew my mind. The sack is more precious than I thought! 😝

I like the formatting very much, you should miss it up more. I didn't know you had a lady. Is she on steemit, bring her on!

How to mix it up more?! :0
Yeah I think she's slowly being convinced to jump on here! 😝

Layout looks fine to me? The lefts and rights appear to be working anyway XP I was going to ask if you've done gymnastics or possibly yoga with the nice straight handstands and pointed feet XD (and in fairness I didn't actually know some of the gymnastics elements seem to come from yoga, everything seems to come from yoga XD). Love the parallels with the handstand shots :D

Looks like you had awesome fun times!

goatsig

Yeah the text was lined up with the images a bit nicer!
I've done yoga a couple of times, mainly do it at home. Working with gymnasts and circus people I've learned a few tips and tricks a long the way :)
Was great fun, thanks!

Dude! This article is unreal!
You are so good at handstands!! There is so much gold in this... you made me laugh a heap of times... and the format looks great... definitely love the text-pulls.

BARRY IS THE BEST!
But also, that fox photo... unreal.

Cheers man! Glad you enjoyed the post!
Took a few efforts to get a good stand though haha
Yeah Barry is awesome and we couldn't believe we got so close to a wild fox too! Still not sure what the fox says though 😂

Hahahahahahaha aahhhhh dammit. A coupla little words and that whole song is in my head.

I'm just terrible at handstands... so these look totally straight and true. The camera doesn't care about undocumented attempts.

Looks like a you had a great Christmas Dolla. You should add this to SWM too.

http://steemitworldmap.com/

Was lovely thanks! I keep forgetting to do this hey 😝

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dolladu
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=christmas-up-down-under-family-food-and-farmland-fun


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)