#lastdayatwork #coworkersbelike ¯\\_(ツ)_/¯

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So, last Tuesday we went to the Sumo Oriental restaurant on a special occasion: it was my last day @ my work!

I have worked as a native iOS (and a little bit Android) developer for almost exactly 5 years at this place, but last Tuestday January 23rd, was my final day at E-sites ¯\(ツ)

E-sites

esites.png

E-sites is a full-service digital agency with 50+ employees, located in my hometown, Breda.
You can actually still find me on the website (but I cannot guarantee that you'll find me, as I might have some over-eager ex-co-worker removing me from the website anytime now...)

I really enjoyed the laidback working atmosphere, the co-workers, and the many social activities, but after 5 years, I really felt ready for a new challenge and a new adventure. So my decision felt down cold on the roof for everyone (this is a literal translation of a Dutch saying - I doubt people will follow, but it means it took everyone by surprise) like dropping a bombshell just before the end of the year...

Without bragging, I can actually get a long quite good with each and every co-worker in the building (which I believe is quite unique for developers - beta guys being extrovert and social is out of the ordinary), and I honestly believe I am really going to miss them...

Anyways, so my co-workers being creative and all, took me for a good laugh and surprised me good, on my last day at work - watch below:

IMG_4801.JPG
IMG_8616.JPG

How thoughtful of them to let everyone know at every door that it would be my last day... #manydiscreet #suchtact

IMG_3978_1.gifIMG_3979_1.gif

In all those years they of course had some awkard pictures of me to use for this particular occasion...

IMG_3492.JPGIMG_9408.JPG

Not only on all of our SCRUM boards, but also when u needed to take a dump 💩, you would get reminded of the fact that this was my last day...

IMG_0914.JPG

They even hung me on the coffee machine, as if they wouldn't know already...

IMG_3986.jpg

So as a token of much appreciation...

I rushed over to the toko (the nearby asian supermarket) during lunch break, and bought some cake to commemorate the fact that today was my official last day of work...
IMG_0832.JPG

I emailed this photo to everyone in the building, and within minutes at least ten co-workers were all trying to get some pandang cake and/or some spekkoek - which I bought three flavors of: pandang (green), chocolate (brown) and banana (yellow) ⬅️ my new favorite!

Thanks for reading! 👋