French Press - fast and easy way to brew coffee

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I drink few coffee a day, I have a grinder and coffee maker at home. Unfortunately, in the office where I work, the problem with good coffee is that there isn't any good coffee. I only have an electric kettle or a coffee machine with tasteless coffee. I was looking for easy and fast of making coffee and with help came french press.


home_cta_1928.png
Modern french press made by Bodum [1]

History and design

French press, press pot, coffee plunger or whatever name you know. It is a narrow cylindrical pot with lid and plunger ended with filter. Its history dates back to the end of the IX century, the most significant patent was registered by the Italian designer Attilio Calimani in the 30s of XX century. The solutions from this patent are still used today. The most recognizable company producing French presses is the Danish kitchen equipment maker Bodum.


calimani_patent.png
Calimani's patent picture of press pot [2]

Instructions

  1. If you want to brew 500 ml of coffee, boil in the kettle about 700 ml of water. These 200 ml will be used to heat the french press before brewing.
  2. The standard portion of coffee per 100 ml is 6 grams. So we need 30 grams. You can use already ground coffee, or grind whole beans by yourself. Just keep in mind, to not grind to hard because then, the coffee will pass through the holes in the filter. Do not put coffee in the pot press yet.
  3. Preheat the pot with previously boiled water (200 ml). Carefully swirl the water and discard it.
  4. Put ground coffee into the pot.
  5. Pour about 1/3 of hot water over the coffee, wait a little.
  6. Set timer for 4 minutes, and pour rest of the water into the cylinder.
  7. Place the plunger lid on the pot. After 4 minutes slowly press the plunger completely.
  8. Pour the coffee into the cups.
  9. Enjoy!

    IMG_0125.JPG
    Small french press made by Hario company, that I am using. It have rubber as a seal

Mobility
Except ease and speed of brewing coffee, French press, has another advantage - it is small and handy. There are, for example, travel models, made from plastic or stainless steel. It is safe to travel with them.


11067-01f.jpg
Travel model made by Bodum [1]

Thanks for the reading and enjoy good coffee!

picture sources:
[1] http://www.bodum.com
[2] http://www.gallacoffee.co.uk

text sources:
http://www.gallacoffee.co.uk
Kevin Sinnott - The Art and craft of Coffee

Sort:  

I just discovered french press coffee about a week ago. I can't believe what i was missing. I tried all kind of coffee machine including the kurig, tassimo but i never liked how the coffee taste from these machines. They are also bulky and coffee pods are expensive.

So i bought one last week, got myself some fresh coffee beans, grind them myself and after looking all over the places to find the perfect water to coffee ratio went ahead and made my very first cup.

Amazing. The best coffee i drank and a very long time. I can finally drink good coffee at home and it cost me 20$ to buy a french press. I'll never go back to anything else, i'm sold.

I read somewhere that french press coffee making method is very similar to coffee cupping done by professionals to grade the coffee quality. In other words, it is very aromatic.

I have one of those little "machines", but I mostly use it for tea. Does a fantastic job too if you don't like teabags.