Spirits in the Forest - Depeche Mode Cinema experience

in #life5 years ago

Just happened this week watched in the cinema of Lviv interesting work directed by Anton Corbijn
called "Spirits in the Forest", a documentary and live concert of Depeche Mode and the story of six their
fans. While the DM fanbase is throughout the world it was a great idea to highlight ordinary people's lives in connection with their favorite band.

I think many people agree that the most bright story was one of a father from Bogotá (Columbia) who played with his kids tribute to DM
songs. Surely it made smile a lot of people. This is one of their works DMK: "Everything Counts"

All of the stories were interesting in own way starting with 22-year-old Mongolian girl (the interior of the apartment she lives
with grandmother so much reminds me the interior of my Urals granny even that country has never been a part of USSR)
to a lady from LA who listened to DM music while going through chemo. The fact she was cured could suggest their music
does have a good vibe.

Once in a train, I was with an old lady who told me about Russian scientist who cured people with the sound he recorded of healthy beings.
Unfortunately, I don't remember the name but because we all vibrate and resonate to music logically to presume that songs we like could affect
us in a positive way.

Of course, it's not only in depressed mode we need some soundtrack to our lives. Happy people I'm sure as well will find food for thought in
clever lyrics. For all the English non-speakers as it was mentioned in the film additional value of favorite songs is that them are the best instrument
to learn the foreign language. Because the words are so sophisticated and ornamental for me as a linguist it is a never-ending pleasure to plunge in
DM lyrics.

I was trying to find the counterpart of the same influential band in this part of the world and could think only about Viktor Tsoi and his Kino band as
the same energetic and meaningful. A recent concert of Metallica in Moscow when they sang his songs shows that interesting to learning more from
other cultures could be two way.

So yes, "Spirits in the Forest" is interesting beyond the concert experience. Very rarely bands endure so different eras. In DM case - New romantics, club,
dance music, trans - their creativity beyond genres so maybe explains such longevity that new generations still stay interested.

In my case, I became listening to them just recently a bit too late for their tour to Kyiv in 2017. I remember their advertising but on that
stage, all I would know would be "Enjoy the Silence" in Dave Gahan's performance. Only accidentally seeing another lead singer Martin Gore
and learning about the history of the band resonated with me. So this one thing I felt a bit disappointed in Spirits they didn't include Gore performance.
But as the bird can't fly with one wing I'm sure many people like me before still think DM is only Dave Gaham missing the other valuable member.
Hoping someone will make a documentary about the band that will include a bit more about the band. As the bird cannot fly with one wing this film was good but would be interesting to learn more.
As like in one of my favorite song "Just Can't Get Enough" I would like more deep film about the band.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dovetail! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!