Top Tips Thursday (Tips on how to keep a journal)

in #life7 years ago

The tips I am about to give you will help you create a story that will capture your reader. You will also have a general layout to use.


Image credit

Today's topic: Tips on how to keep a journal

Today's tips are:

After going through many different websites looking through tips and advice I have found some really great ones that I will share with you.

We are all really busy and we might think "where am I going to find the time to do this" Many people say if you want to do something, do it first thing in the morning. This way the rest of your day does not get in the way of it.

Tip 1: The moment you wake up take a few minutes to get out your notebook and write.


Image credit

Tip 2: Do not try writing pages and pages of things, jotting down a couple of thoughts and feelings or an experience or 2 is perfect. It does not have to be long.


Image credit

Tip 3: If you struggle with writing, this will be one of the best ways to get over it. If you don't know what to write about, write that you have nothing to write about today and close the journal. When looking back you will notice how this changes and how your writing everyday improves. This is so you keep consistency and never lose the habit.


Image credit

You know who you are and what is the best way to form a new habit.

Tip 4: Make it a habit, structure and consistency is key to success!


Image credit

Tip 5: If you have always struggled doing things daily, then don't force it. Start of small, maybe a journal entry once a month or even once week. Once you have set the habit you can increase the amount of times you write in your journal and it will not be so hard.


Image credit

Just on a little side note for self improvement. I will be doing pushups, situps and squats for the amount of $$$ (ratio;$1:1) I earn on this post and will give a short feedback every day at the end of each post. This will be split in equally between all 3. Any not done will carry onto the next day.

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Journal... I can't allow anybody to have so much private information about me :D It would look like madman

Well don't put things on that are way to personal

@dragonslayer109 - Fantastic tips - coming from a master. I especially like Tip 4. I have always found that, if there is even a small gap, I feel lethargic and stuck when it comes to writing anything. I am not a blogger by habit. I write a few lines because my chain of thought runs as I look at my photos while I am sorting or storing them. Your tip will help me to make it a regular effort

The visual images in your blog are very nice and make an impact. Even the banner for team South Africa looks great. Kudos to @bearone for that.

Regards,
vm2904

Keeping it going is what helps keeping everything going. :)

Good post. I like reading tips every once in a while to remind me about important things in life.
Your tip #4 can be complemented with BJ Fogg readings about tiny habits.
http://tinyhabits.com/

I'm calling it early morning "Freewriting." - I started doing it (again) a few months ago, maybe just a little bit different than you described it.

So, my way...
I set up a timer for 10 minutes and start to write whatever is going through my mind. So, it's usually not some nice and easy to follow or even less meaningful story, but it's fun. I have a notebook for this Freewriting and I do it by hand, not on my PC and without the keyboard. Handwriting has an additional good impact on all of this (as far as I know.)

Anyways, I write down anything that crosses my mind at that moment. Sometimes it's even: "Why I'm doing this?"
The next one might be because of the noisy distraction from the outside, like: "Stupid motorcycle went down the street crazy loud."
Then something totally different goes through my mind, like: "OMG, I'm jotting here, losing my time and I still don't know what I'm going to cook today!"
And another one from nowhere would hit, like: "Why my daughter yesterday told me this and that, in fact?" - And so on and so forth.

However, your post just opened my eyes as I apparently have the problem with consistency. Went to check (as I write the date of writing in my notebook as well), and I just realized I haven't been doing it for last 2 months.

Therefore, thank you for reminding me to start again (for I don't know which time over)! 🙂
But it's really a good thing to do, as it somehow frees your mind and as well improves your writing skills although maybe totally unconsciously.

Wow I really like that idea of writing whatever comes to mind. Yes writing things by hand does have it's benefits. A great reminder is always a good thing.

I will take some of these advice into account and put them into practice

Just started following and this was the first post of yours i have read. I look forward to reading more posts from you in the future, especially if they have these type of tips for success.

There is tips every Thursday if you want to check them out.

Nic Post and Every time i see your post, i always feel happy and happy. and I Follow u and U Follow Me

thanks for the entry !

nice post especially mouse character is very much liked by me

Thank you for the tips. Will definitely be making use of them.

Thans for sharing tips!! I will try it! Hopefully your tips lucky for me!!

Nice tips @dragonslayer109. At some point I don't have thoughts to write. But I never give up.

followed you,if you want to know about https://steemit.com/@yourchannal (,please follow me

Very useful your advice will take into account the process you write
Greetings from venezuela and very successful @dragonslayer109

Thank for your tips... @dragonslayer109
Upvote this post that good for us..

I am a new steemians, maybe i should study first with you, regards know me
https://steemit.com/@movietrailar please follow me
I followed and upvoted.Would you like to follow and upvote me.
DQmRKgYYp1TzWmvqtnfbMSLZQSgUXinUxqyHyd39HZ8j7gx.gifDQmeEhY3iMJiyRhGjAM6aaUDfSuam7F722fD6iwqyWxVBMB_1680x8400.pngU5drhZJbgh8HauKXEXxztDAj5gtKctA.gif

You're doing a great job. Thanks for sharing.

Just write anything that comes up in your mind. If most of the readers doesn't like it then so be it. You are not writing to please anybody, you are writing because you're into it :)

This is very true.

Nice tips. I think very useful for newbies that are struggling and have no idea how to start :) Since there is so much information on the internet sometimes you have no idea where to begin.

Nice post :D

Hello, Good Work, keep it up... :) Enjoy your time here in Steemit... It's a great community! Wish you Good Luck! ** I will follow your account, please follow me at @space-man

From: https://steemit.com/@space-man

a truly amazing and really helpfull article,thank you @dragonslayer109 for sharing with us :)

thats true, it doesnt have to be long. not everyone have the time to read a text with lenght of 15min or more.

And some people also don't like reading so short is good.

Tip no 3 is perfect for me!

@dragonslayer109

If you don't know what to write about, write that you have nothing to write about today and close the journal.

I really like that advice. In writing about nothing, you are in essence writing about something and that in itself is generating the creative flow!

Sometimes I find it best to seek inspiration by actually moving away from my laptop or completely - going to do something totally different can inspire all sorts of fun thoughts and writing in a journal is definitely one of those things!

I used to write a lot in a journal when I was in my teens and early twenties and I loved it, but I have not done it for years. You have inspired me to start it again because it really does improve the creative thought processes and it is a fantastic form of release too. Very therapeutic!

Great read, glad I stumbled across it!

Yes and when you look back you do not see a gap but some effort. It is always good to take some time to thing and empty your mind. I do this most afternoons watching the sunset.

Congratulations @dragonslayer109! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks buddy for your wonderful tips i am feel very motivated right now , thanks :)

Thanks for the tips. Upvoted and followed.

You could also use an android app to log your journal on the go, I found this very effective as you do not always keep a notebook with you , but usually people carry their phones anywhere they go .

I have to agree with you. Apps are a great thing for thoughts.

You could give some upvotes back then some feedback...

Great tips for those who like to write every day, thank you!

To be honest had a great time reading this ,learnt many thing from it and yeah i am following the second point from the start

i too have seen that people love short stories which is quick to read and great by the way it was great to see your post today will follow to see such more Glad to connect :) thanks a ton again !!

NICE POST BIG BOSS
LOVE THE NO 3 PICTURE
ACTUALLY DID A COURSE LIKE THAT IN UNIVERSITY DAYS
REINFORCEMENT STRENGTHEN BEHAVIOURS/HABITS
IT'S A KIND OF TRAINING
THANKS ALOT

Wonderful review. Thanks for sharing!

I keep my life journal in Steemit until my end. But keep on fighting.

Very valid and valuable indeed. My mind is constantly overflowing with ideas and some tend to get smothered by others that seem to take over :) I shall start dotting em down for those "rainy" days. One of the first things I do in the mornings is open up my profile and catch up on as much as I can. This entire Saturday (up until now) I've been browsing through my feed (my house is still a mess, lol) to catch up on the content of my following. Well deserved posts were checked and comments made. Thanks for your post @dragonslayer109 :):) Cheers!!

Thank you for sharing. This piece is self explanatory, concise and straight to the point. Writing is wonderful thing to do always especially the idea of putting down our thoughts.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment