Sort:  

Thanks... At this point, I think of myself as being halfway on, halfway off the grid... The grid does have its perks, so I guess finding that optimal sweet spot for overall optimal living is what I've been exploring.... and of course, what "optimal" means is unique for each person. For example, the affect on bodily health of long-term car-living was something I rationally could have expected, but didn't consciously factor into my choices until the warning signs of pain became undeniable.... But regarding perspective, as you mention, each switch in routine has given me a new perspective of some sort.... I guess that's why people are said to a gain wisdom with age, perhaps?

Anyway, good luck with your off-grid situation as well!

Ah, yeah, we're no longer off the grid, ;) We went through a pretty similar situation, but rather than a car it was a camper, and we also began suffering bodily once we were stuck in it more due to the weather.
I loved that period (when the weather was nice ;) At the same time, there is something to be said for hot running water...running water in general, haha.
There are pros and cons to just about anything we do in this life. For me, the one thing I have truly taken from the experience, is the ability to be flexible. More than the ability, the conscious effort even. We may live in a comfortable house at this point in time, but in no way is my future set in stone.
I love this platform though, what a fantastic find ;)