Cheap Jeep Series - Replacing the Spark Plugs and Wires!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Is you car misfiring, or just down in power?


It may be time to change those spark plugs!


Welcome to the latest #CheapJeep post! Check out the other posts here!

Spark plugs can last anywhere from 30k, to even 100k miles depending on what type of material they're made of. Plugs can be copper, platinum, or iridium tipped. Our Jeep wasn't necessarily misfiring, but I knew it was time to replace the plugs, wires, and distributor cap/rotor. For some reason Chrysler decided to bury the cap in the back of the engine under the firewall, so it wasn't fun fishing it out. Other than that, it was a quick job.

I'm not going to go through changing a cap and rotor because most 1996+ vehicles moved onto using coil packs, plus changing the cap and rotor was hard to take pics of, because it was so buried in the back. So all I did was take out two 7mm bolts holding on the cap, then pulled off the rotor, and reinstall.
Old corroded points in the cap.
DSC_0057_1.jpg

New cap.
DSC_0060_1.jpg

Old corroded rotor vs new.
DSC_0053_1.jpg

I first marked on each wire what number cylinder it is, that way I could reinstall the wires correctly. This can be done by googling your vehicles firing order. Example: The 5.2L firing order that is in our Jeep. Just image a wire going from one number to the matching number. After numbering the wires, I pulled them all off. If you don't want to number them, just do one plug/wire at a time.


source

After pulling the wires out I used a 5/8" spark plug socket to remove the plugs.
DSC_0074_1.jpg

DSC_0062_1.jpg

Then I reinstalled the plugs after making sure they were gapped at .035". Next is an annoying part, matching up the wire lengths. When you remove a wire you have to match it to the new one and make sure it's the proper length. This has to be done for each. wire.
DSC_0076_1.jpg

After you have determined the correct sized wire for each one, plug them back in and route them how however you need to so that they aren't too loose or tight. DSC_0077_1.jpg

After you're done, start it up and go for a cruise. If something doesn't feel right, recheck your firing order and make sure each wire is where it needs to go.

I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

I have generally done the 1 wire at a time method. Also be certain that none of the wires are resting directly on the engine when you are done. If you broke the retaining clips that keep this from happening, be sure to pick up some new ones. Also be sure to use dielectric grease when snapping the new wires onto the new plugs.

Yes, all of this! I forgot to include that here. Luckily mine came with grease, but if your wires don't you can put up a pack at any auto parts counter. Thanks for the comment!

Spark plug ismain part of car pic up

Thanks for the information

I agree with your friends opinion, good post friends.

I have never gone down the rabbit hole and change my plugs in any vehicle I have owned. Maybe I will this spring see if my truck will run smoother.

It's worth a shot! It's an easy preventive maintenance.

Nice post mate....

Doing some major repair myself at the moment on my newly bought 1997 old mitsubishi..brake,suspension,timing belt...but gonna save the big problem for last😂😂..the car was using automatic transmission but with no reverse 😂😂😂😂

Thanks!

Oh, nice! I used to own a 91 Mitsubishi 3000gt. Good call on worst for last, lol! That sounds rough!

I love the 3000GT and its sister the Dodge Stealth. I believe the engines were Dodge and the bodies were Mitsubishi..I could have that backwards. Regardless, I still love the way they look and regret not ever owning one. They would fly if you had the turbo versions.

That's how they were! I wish I had the turbo, although I probably would've gotten myself killed lol

I definitely would have died. I also admit that in the same era I was envious of anyone with a 300zx twin turbo. That was a monster back then for the price. If I remember correctly they would do like 160mph off the showroom floor. They are still good looking today if they aren't beaten to death.

It was 1987 not 1997 mistype😂😂,,,
Yup...cause im gonna send the car to friend of mine that doing automatic transmussion only..if its manual i can do it easy😂😂..automatic not my territory😂😂

Manual are way easier, clutch packs in autos can be a pain.

Awesome post! Great attention to detail, i love how you went through the entire ignition system and not just the spark plugs! Very useful info for everyone

Thank you for the comment!

Alright, I am giving you an upvote for DIY even though that is not why I opened the post. I saw the image and thought for a second they were reloading dies! A little disappointed I had not found a fellow reloader :)

s7_210894_imageset_02.jpeg

Haha, bummer! I wouldn't mind taking up reloading one day.

Iam diggin this.. Keep the MAN post going brother @drobinson

You got it, thanks man!