How To: ...balance time???

in #life6 years ago

It's been so long I almost don't know how to work this thing anymore...

Kidding of course, but it has been a while...again. A lot has been going on in the life of drobinson as of lately, I started doing landscaping a month or so ago, which takes up most of my days Monday through Friday.
IMG_20180801_092306.jpg

After I come home I usually head to the garage to work on the lawn mowers I have been reselling after repairing them. Actually, small engine repair has yielded great return for me. So much so, that I have now created a business page on social media trying to get the word out, as well as made up some business cards and set up a Square account so I can accept credit cards, not to mention ordering repair tags and repair orders/receipts. So far I have had a few satisfied customers! After I finish up the couple of mowers I have in the garage I will try to push harder and promote more around town.
IMG_20180730_171854.jpg

In addition to all of that, we have changed vehicles a few times since we last talked...We sold the #CheapJeep a bit ago in hope of finding a truck so I could transport things easier. (what really made me realize this is when I busted the rear window with a push mower handle...) Between selling the Jeep and finding a truck, I came across a 2005 Ford Taurus on a local classified site. We snagged it for only $400! All it needed was a battery, and an alternator. After a couple hundred in repairs, it was in great working condition and we put it on the market.
IMG_20180721_172334.jpg

When the Jeep sold we were kind of in a hurry to find a truck so we wouldn't have to get plates for the car. Luckily, we found a 1997 Ford F150 that was in our price range, then the car sold for a nice profit a couple of weeks ago. The truck has some small problems, so i'm sure i'll do a repair series on it as well.
IMG_20180715_135823.jpg

I must admit it has been a challenge for me to balance my time. I need to work for income, while simultaneously try and get my repair jobs out the door and grow my client base for potentially having my own business. And most importantly, spending quality time with my wife is a must. I do believe it is all for good, and I do enjoy staying busy, but sometimes it is tough balancing it all. Hence why you have not heard from me in almost 2 months. However, it is getting better. At the end of landscaping season, we are hoping to take a vacation. Yellowstone, multiple Canadian cities, Oregon coast, and Seattle are all potentially candidates, and I can't wait!
IMG_20180715_135032.jpg

Until next time, folks!


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

Good to see you're doing well. Also good to know of a reliable machine repairman. 😉

Haha, you know where to find me! Nice to hear from you!

Well, being busy is better than the alternative, for sure. Congratulations on your growing business!

Lucky for you, landscape equipment always seems to be breaking down. I have had the worst luck with my riding mower this summer.

Absolutely! Hey, thanks!

Sorry to hear that!

I can personally vouch for your lawnmower repairing abilities! Thanks again for fixing ours. I, too, struggle with balance. So much to do, so much to prioritize. In fact, I've been toying with a post about that, too!

So glad you were happy with it! It can be a challenge, for sure!