You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit.... a classroom for gaining wisdom in diversity. I'm at my desk... teach me. Is it appropriation or is it flattery?

in #life7 years ago

Thank you so much for the fantastic reply. You have reaffirmed the complexity of the situation and many of the thoughts I have been using as references, including the important reality that we haven't the right to tell another how they should feel about something. That is why I continue to solicit the ideas from as many people who are willing to share so I can grow my perspective of how we should behave and what things should be definitely discouraged vs. situations that more likely represent an overreaction by an individual (which doesn't invalidate it's importance, especially when dealing with that individual or others like them). I agree that cultures, when open to diversity, will look to adopt new, palatable and enticing aspects of other cultures as a form of respect and emulation. I likewise accept that when these things, that are seen by one group as part of their identity become mainstream and thus diluted from their association with that group, this can seem like oppression. I find it interesting too that while one argument might be for greater acceptance of different cultures, that we simultaneously seem to have some efforts at re-segregation with regards to certain elements that are to remain the cultural property of the original group. This is all very complex, and I hope we can continue with thoughtful and enlightening dialogue as a steemit community. Who knows, maybe it will be here that some of these problems are solved?