Have a blissful day

in #life6 years ago

45093190_10213697571368245_1152395813494718464_n.jpg
On Saturday the 20th of October, 2018, I attended a special concert at Phat Quang Pagoda (Thiền Tôn Phật Quang). I would like to share my experience with you.

I had been informed of this concert and invited to join by a friend a few weeks prior to the event. I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect but I was excited to go. The concert was taking place at the pagoda of Master Quang, located on Dinh Mountain, in Ba Ria. I had never been to something like this and I always enjoy trying new things. On the Saturday, I was working during the day. I didn’t finish until 5PM. The concert was starting at 6PM. As soon as I finished work I went straight to the bus stop. I had a short wait for the bus and then I was off to Dinh Mounatin! I’m not sure exactly how long the bus journey was, but I did have time for a nap on the way.

The bus dropped me off on the main road at the foot of the mountain. I looked around for a xe om to take me up the mountain but I couldn’t find one. I walked over to a small restaurant and asked one of the staff if there were any xe oms nearby. He was very friendly and helpful. Although, there were no xe oms near, he got on his motorbike and drove down the road to search for me. When he returned he told me he couldn’t find any and he offered to take me up the mountain himself.

It took a few minutes to go up the mountain. The roads were dark and winding but I trusted his driving skills. The concert was already in progress when I arrived. When I arrived at the entrance of the pagoda I was greeted by my friend. We then walked together down many steps, surrounded by many plants and trees, to the main grounds of the pagoda. I saw so many people gathered watching and listening to the concert. I could hear the music in the distance, and as I got closer I could see the lights. I was amazed by the beautiful surroundings. Eventually we moved towards the stage area and got two seats about midway up. I sat and watched many different performances by various singers and dancers. Towards the end, Master Quang went up on stage and sang one of his own songs. It was very nice to listen to. After that, the stage was prepared for an interview. A table and chairs were placed in the middle of the stage and two MCs interviewed Master Quang and two professional composers. The songs performed during the concert were written by these three people. During the interview I learned that Master Quang has written 140 songs. Upon hearing this one of the other composers joked that he has written much less.

After the concert, as things got quieter, I could hear the sounds of flowing water. My friend told me that there were many streams and rivers around the pagoda. I wandered about and talked with some people. Everyone was very friendly. I ate some fruit and drank some juice. I went to the kitchen area to help out. I joined some people drying dishes. After a while of drying dishes I met a man who brought me to the men’s accommodation and showed me where I would be sleeping that night. He gave me some blankets. I used one blanket as a pillow. Before I went to bed some people told me that there would be meditation at 4:00AM and invited me to join. I had no experience with meditation but decided to try it anyway.
45015622_10213697570808231_3195885834968498176_n.jpg
During the night it was a little hot and I got bitten many times by mosquitoes. I was still itchy three days later!

On Sunday morning I woke up at 3:45AM. I was woken up by the sound of a gong and chanting. This was to gather the people who wanted to meditate. I brushed my teeth and went to the main gathering area. I saw many monks, nuns, and laypeople walking silently towards an alter. I followed them and found a spot to sit down. Everything felt so clam and peaceful. When the meditation began I tried to do a lotus position but I couldn’t do it correctly. My legs are not flexible enough. I wasn’t what to do and my legs felt sore but I still managed to finish the full hour. Maybe in the future I can learn how to meditate correctly.
After that, there were prayers which I didn’t participate in. Instead, I found a place to relax for a while. When the prayers had finished I met my friend and we walked around talking to many different people.

Breakfast started at 6:30AM. I helped prepare some things and then I ate. The food was all vegetarian, of course, and very delicious. After breakfast I felt tried to I went back to the men’s accommodation and took a nap. When I woke up from my nap I went walking around the pagoda grounds talking with people. Everyone I met was so nice and I felt comfortable talking with them. I also had the opportunity to speak with some monks and nuns. One of the monks answered some questions I had about the pagoda, such as “when was the pagoda established?” and “how many people live here full-time?”. All the monks and nuns I spoke with seemed very knowledgeable and educated. They had varying levels of English but I had no problem communicating with any of them.

After that, I decided to help out some more around the pagoda so I returned to the kitchen area. Here I helped some people prepare food for cooking. It was very fun working together and making conversation. Soon though, it was time for me to leave. Before I left the pagoda I did a few other small tasks, the I gathered my things. I went around the pagoda saying goodbye to everyone and one of the nuns gave me some fruit to take home. I was so happy and grateful when she did this.

Before I left, I stopped at the book store with my friend and looked around. I was pleasantly surprised to see many of the books had Vietnamese and English. I got a book to take home and read.

Leaving the pagoda was tiring. It was the afternoon and the weather was so hot. The most exhausting part was walking up the many steps leading to the main pagoda grounds. When I reached the top I immediately bought a bottle of cold water.

My friend and I got a xe om down the mountain and eventually got a bus back to Ho Chi Minh city. I felt very happy with my experience and made a wonderful memory. I hope to visit again soon.