Gratitude leads to happiness - Day 29

in #life6 years ago

I feel gratitude today about my attitude. I've recently come to the realisation that I can't control what other people do/say/act or how they behave. It's nothing to do with me and I have made a decision to try and not let others affect me.

pexels-photo.jpg

Image Source

This realisation and decision is actually quite freeing! If I encounter someone throughout my day who is in a bad mood or doing something that may trigger distress in me, I am choosing to not let their mood affect me. I don't need to let it impact on me or how I'm feeling. I don't need to get drawn down into my own bad mood. I can stay in my happiness and gratitude bubble. The other person can decide to stay grumpy, or they can choose get happy and come and join me. That's their choice.

The reason I have put this as a gratitude post is because it has made me feel so happy. I know that it will take some practice of being around someone who is maybe unhappy/grumpy and not getting pulled down too, but that's what is so exciting and good about this. It's my decision. I have the choice to let someone elses mood affect me or not. I choose not!

A practical way that I have found to stay happy when others around me are not, is to focus on what makes me happy. This was one of the reasons why I decided to write these posts. I now have a documented Gratitude Journal. I can refer back to it at any time that I need to change my mood. I can look through and see all the things I have written about and focus on them, instead of the unhappy person surrounding me.

Thank you Steemit and community for giving me a platform to keep my gratitude journal. I appreciate it.

Sort:  

Yay that can be a tough one XD I think I'm one of those people that probably annoys the grumpy people around me XD

I'm currently trying to teach my youngest what you're doing currently but sometimes I think he's just determined to be miserable XD

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, it's going to be fun trying to teach my wee one too. There's definitely some negative / grumpy influencers in the family! Haha :D. So if I can teach her to just be herself and not be impacted by others then that's a win!

Good luck with your youngest. Hopefully over time they will pick up on your positive modelling.

Posted using Partiko Android