2018 New Year's Resolutions: Here's to New Adventures!

in #life6 years ago

Hello my favorite steem peeps! This is Echo Cadence here bringing you another round of adventure!

I know that Christmas/Hanuka/ Winter Solstice holiday hasn't exactly finished up quiet yet, but I just couldn't help but think about the upcoming year and all the unknown promises it will bring. It's really exciting!

However, one thing that many awesome peeps such as yourself dislikes about the new year is having to make a New Year's Resolution. Another thing that you may dislike about the new year is the looming doom of change, or perhaps having the despair that nothing will change at all.

I'm here to help you all with that~

1.) Losing Weight

I know, I know, this is an absurdly popular one that so many people give up on. Before you even decide that this is what you want your New Year's Resolution to be, I want you to first do a few things:

Find out the correct weight or BMI for someone of your stature, height, and age is supposed to be. For instance, I am 24 years old and 5'7 and am currently 167 pounds. According to the website listed below, which I highly reccommend you use, I need to lose 26 pounds to be considered healthy. And that's awesome, because with a balanced diet and regular exercise I know I can lose that weight within 6 to 8 months!
https://www.health-calc.com/body-composition/bmi-adults

Make realistic expectations for yourself. I don't expect myself to lose 26 pounds in one month (although that would be nice), and neither should you. Make little goals for yourself and reward yourself each time you make those goals. For instance, let's say that you want to lose 10 pounds by the end of January. That's a high goal, but not unrealistic! If you meet it, then allow yourself a cheat day, rest day, bad fanfic, whatever makes you happy. :)

Make sure that you're losing weight only for yourself and not for the sake of anyone else. If you have a lover who's unhappy with your size, drop them and not your weight. If you have parents nagging at you to lose weight, slowly munch on a donut while flipping them off. If you want to lose weight or go on a diet, you must only do it for yourself and for no one else.

Take it slow. I know that this ties into making realistic expectations for yourself, but I cannot stress this enough. The journey for weightloss is physically, emotionally, and mentally taxing and you need to realize that your body needs to adjust to this change that it's going through.

2.) Staying away from caffeine

You're evil for doing this to yourself, but if you're seriously serious about depriving yourself from this beautiful source of life, then okay. You're nuts, but here's how to pull it off.

FRUIT INFUSIONS!!!! As I'm sure you well know, fruits have tons and tons of natural sugars and vitamins that are good for you in moderation, so infusing them into drinks is no brainer! If you want some fruit infusion ideas, hit the pinterest!

Water. Buckets and buckets of water. Fruit infusions makes the staying off the caffeine a lot easier, but if you're a tough guy that doesn't need that fruit stuff, just drown yourself in water.

3.) Trying Something New

This is the fun one! Do you have a weekend off and you're kinda leaning towards doing the same old same old? Do you have enough funds to drive somewhere and back? Go to a nearby town that you haven't really visited before and have fun!

Are you at the groccery store about to get the same ingredients to make the same food you've been making for the past year? Get on that phone of yours and look up a recipe you've never made before and get the stuff to make it!

At a restuarant? Try something you've never ever tried before!
The possibilities are endless!

4.) Winning the Battle of Depression
Depression is something so many people deal with and it's not a matter of simply getting over it. If it were that simple, then this world would be a much happier place.

Depression is a place, a deep dark hole within all of us that becomes deeper and wider throughout our experiences. We all have it, but some of us are just so darn lucky to not fall into that pit and continue flying high. Meanwhile, much of the population has fallen down below and cannot find a reason to pull ourselves back up.

Depression is indeed a battle that we have to fight to conquer it, and sometimes it feels as though as we have. And then it roundhouse kicks us in the face.

This New Year's Resolution is for those suffering through depression and want so desperately to escape from it. Here are the things that I want you to do to start this resolution:

Listen to those sad songs. That's right, and I know you know what I'm reffering to. Too often people say surround yourself with happy things and happy songs; but that's not the truth that we're feeling and we need to embrace the sad and empty feelings that envelopes you. Listen to that sad, angsty playlist, pull away from the fake happiness and allow yourself to feel whatever comes to you. Let it embrace you, but please do the next step.

Listen to a badass song. Now that you've allowed yourself to feel what the depression wants you to feel, you have to fight it. Listen to Immortals by Fallout boy or rock out to Fantastic Baby by BigBang, scream along to it, dance to it, MAKE YOURSELF DO IT! It sucks, it really does. Most of the time I don't want to do it, but afterwards, I feel a bit better.

Don't hang out if you don't want to. Please let me be clear, I am not saying to isolate yourself. Don't do that, but if you don't want to go to your friend's place because that depression hole is just too deep to pull yourself out of that day, that's fine. Don't push yourself, but don't be alone. Put on a show, anything, and you don't have to watch it. Let it be there, and if you want to, watch it.

Write. I'm not saying to become a professional writer or journalist, or even a poet, but just pick up a pen or marker and write. Write on yourself, write on the wall, write on paper (prefferably), write on napkins. Just write. Write those bad and hurtful things you think about yourself, write about the hopelessness of the situation, write about the weather if that interests you, write about your family. Just let it out.
Then I want you to find a voice within your head, hell, make up a character if you must, and dispute all of the stuff you just wrote. Did you write that you're fat? Fuck no, you're not! Did you scribble that everyone things you're worthless? Uh, no you're not! Find a reason, no matter how small or ridiculous it may seem, and fight those words.

Please keep in mind that that is my medicine for when I'm fighting through my depression, my antidote to when I can't seem to find the light or a ladder to get me out of that hole. It may not work for you, and that's perfectly fine. It doesn't have to, but I hope that these ideas blossom more ideas for you for you to help yourself.

Do you have any great New Year's Resolutions ideas? Share with me in the comments below! I'd love to hear your input!

Echo Cadence out!

Image Source
https://www.pinterest.com/iokktt/kawaii/

https://www.pinterest.com/Moo2you4ever/rilakkuma/

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @echocadence. Feel free to follow me @kanasite and upvote. Cheers :)

Excellent post! I especially appreciate the listen to a "bad" song!

thank you bmacfoz! I appreciate that! :) Listening to a badass song always gets the blood pumping with me!

Wonderful list you have there.. Hope you can follow through.. All the best.. Welcome to the steemit family @echocadence .. Feel free to follow @kekegist and upvote.. I will do same.. Cheers ☺

I'm so glad that you liked it! ^u^ I'll be sure to follow~

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @echocadence to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you! :)