Why do people assume things about others?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Do your own research, enlighten yourself. It is better to know than to assume

48893134553d78b0044c83688b9e1efc.jpg
CREDIT
Have you ever been in a position where people generally assume stuffs about you without even getting to know you or even verifying?
Being on the receiving end of a hurtful assumption is not fun at all.
I ask myself why do people assume stuffs about others which are false? Why are they hasty to make conclusions which are false based on feelings not facts? Do they ponder on the damages such assumptions cause?
I once had to break up with a lady because she kept assuming things about me, which 90% of the time were false. She realized her folly, but by then it was late. I spent close to two years on that relationship but when there was no sign of an end in sight to the constant assumptions, I just had to leave.

The guilty party do not know that although it is easier to assume than to verify, it is better to verify.

Why do some people do it? I have no definite answer to that, but it is a trait that hurts not only the people that matter to us, but we ourselves on the long run.
There is no gain in assuming things about people as it basically dehumanizes them, which is bad.
We should remember:

Although a tongue is not a stone, it can break a heart.

giphy (7).gif
Don't forget to UPVOTExig67ak5T.gif RESTEEMxig67ak5T.gifFOLLOW@ehiboss on steemit for more
PhotoGrid_1494967269686.jpg

Sort:  

Unfortunately most people make assumptions about others and then judge them. That is why there is so much negativity because people don't take the time to reach out and learn. I've had my own times when people misjudged me and caused painful situations and memories. But as I have grown older, I find that the most important thing is, "how do you perceive yourself". From every bad situation, I have learned to look for something good to grow from. I have really become a better person for it. We can all learn from life's experiences and grow as human beings. Have a great day!

it is painful