Planning a wedding? Please stop and consider this.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

 Thank you to @jessicacoaches  for giving me permission to re-post her blog.   

Why and How You Should Have a Big, Cheap Wedding.


While perusing the internet this week, I came across several advertisements for financing your wedding.  Because there is nothing that says we are ready for the next chapter  of our lives like starting it with a massive debt. Curious, I  investigated more.  


Washington Times reported that the average price of an American wedding had reached a mind-boggling $35,329! 


WHAT! On a party? 


This amount could send that couple on good economic footing into the world.   35,000 dollars is a great downpayment on a home in most states or even a  paid in full, flat-out cash price on some fixer uppers or condos. It could allow that couple to house hack and cover all of their housing  expenses!!! Why would anyone in their right mind finance a wedding? Where are the friends and families not condoning excess and telling the perpetrators of such wastefulness what they are doing?  TIME reports as of 2016 that 1 in 3 people have no retirement savings and that 72% of millennials have less than $10,000 in savings.

 Where did we go wrong?


 When  did declaring our love for someone for our all our friends and families  to nourish and protect become a pinnacle of American consumerism? Does  having the $3,000 dress instead of the $300 one say our love will last  forever?  Well it better, because that debt probably will stick around  for a while. But guess what, it does not, in fact quite the opposite. 

A 2014 paper by two Economics professors from Emory University found that “Controlling  for a number of demographic and relationship characteristics, we find  evidence that marriage duration is inversely associated with spending on  the engagement ring and wedding ceremony.“ Wait. On average, if you spend more money on your wedding ring and wedding, the marriage is less likely to last!   The professors went on to hypothesize that it was possible that the  economic stress of the debt from the wedding was what caused such  outcome.  Do we need more reasons to be fiscally responsible, on this special day? It goes on further to say: “evidence  suggests that the types of weddings associated with lower likelihood of  divorce are those that are relatively inexpensive but are high in  attendance.So if you want that marriage to last, go cheap, but don’t skimp on the people. I didn’t know all this when I got married, but this is exactly what I had. 

A big, cheap wedding. 

Wedding Fairy Lights,  Table Runners,  Table Cloth,  Vases,  and anything else you can think of! 

Choose a cheap venue.   We did a backyard wedding, and it was wonderful.  Other places that  are cheap are city parks, national parks, and some other public  facilities. 

Get a pre-owned wedding dress.  Using an expensive dress for one day is wasteful.  I bought something  that I had tried on at a store for half-off the tag.  And guess what you  can sell it again afterward!! I used  Pre-Owned Wedding Dresses, and I have nothing but good things to say about them.  Many of the dresses offer returns.

Get a Birthday Cake!  I went wedding cake shopping and was disgusted both with the level of  quality and the price.  Instead, I decided to go to my local bakery and  ordered three all white birthday cakes.  They were amazingly good and a fraction of the cost. 

Rent the tables and chairs, make sure to shop around and don’t mention that it is a wedding.  

Don’t skimp on the Wedding Photographer.   This was the one thing I wish I hadn’t gone cheap on.  Still, there  are so many amazing photographers out there I would choose one that isn’t huge on the wedding circuit to get more value. 

Food.   This was my biggest expense.  I had my favorite restaurant cater a buffet.  The meal was my chosen splurge for my guests that made my wedding feel not low budget at all. 

Get flowers in bulk.  I ordered 450 roses in three beautiful colors from Sam’s Club. 


 

Have family help out! Some family members will  want to help share in your big day; this is an awesome way.  Those  flowers need to be arranged, the chairs set up and moved, maybe you have  a cousin who would rather give some time than cash for a present!

How do you feel about the modern American wedding?  What was your wedding like or what are you planning?


Thank you to @jessicacoaches  for giving me permission to re-post her blog.  

Sort:  

Thank you to @jessicacoaches for giving me permission to re-post her blog.