I Should've Been Doing the Noblest Profession Years Ago

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Many people say that Teaching is the noblest of all professions.

teaching.jpg

IMAGE

The Indian statesman and former Indian President A. P. J. Abdul Kalam even elaborated his thoughts about the profession through a quote that goes,
"Teaching is a very noble profession that shapes the character, caliber, and future of an individual. If the people remember me as a good teacher, that will be the biggest honour for me."

Not everyone who knows me knew the fact that I am a teacher by profession. I finished a Bachelor's degree in Secondary Education majoring the English language back in 2010. But the only time I was able to teach students in high school was when I was doing a one whole semester of practicum as required by the Education Department's curriculum of our college.

I knew in my heart that I do not have the passion for teaching. And I swore that I wouldn't do something half-heartedly. I always wanted to do things putting my 100% on it.

Remembering those days that I had to spend most of my time at night writing Detailed lesson plans that I had to prepare for the next day, the Instructional Materials that had to be conducive to each student's learning, made me sleepless. Plus the fact that I had to face 3 sections with 50 students each had been a punishment enough for an introverted person like me. (If you are one of us, imagine 150 set of eyes looking at you and only you for the whole hour.)

I didn't even know if I was effective enough in transferring some knowledge to these young men and women. Imagine the disaster if I won't be able to teach them well! But those students I had was able to confirm that they liked the way I taught them. But sometimes I'd feel like they exaggerate things a bit cause they'd say they wanted me to teach them more than my cooperative teacher (The teacher a student-teacher work with during practicum). They'd tell me thing like, "I wish you're the one scheduled to teach us today" and "We get sleepy when she teaches us. Her voice is too soft. Yours is loud and clear". But, I have to be honest and admit that their comments matter so much to me.

They even gave me small tokens and letters written on small pieces of papers during my last day with them. Some became so innovative and showed me how creative they could be! Their messages melt my heart so much. (It's just sad that when our house was washed out by one super typhoon that passed, the letters were washed out too.)

But after Graduation, I aimed to be in the Business Process Outsourcing Industry. I walked away from teaching not knowing when to face it again. I didn't think of taking the Licensure exam either. I told myself that maybe, just maybe, I would do it. Maybe I'd be able to teach and touch lives and leave some legacy. Maybe. Who knows.

Friends and classmates in college tried everything to convince me to leave the BPO and teach. Some even tried to force me. But hard-headed as I am, I didn't listen to any one of them. One by one they gave up.

At last!

So I thought I was living my life free from people who wanted me to practice the noblest profession. And I did what I had to do. To work and work and work.

So I spent collectively, 7 years working in different call centers within Metro! Manila. Living free from them and the thought that I had to be a teacher. At least, that's what I thought.

Then, just very recently, like a day ago, I received a message from one of my former classmates and co-english major student asking me if I wanted to apply in their school as they lack English teachers. So I rolled my eyes while reading all his messages. Here we go again!

He was really trying to convince me to apply. And just like me, he came from being a call center agent, going back on his track of being a teacher, an educator. He told me about his journey hoping that he'd be able to convince me knowing that their head teacher was our principal during high school.

So I honestly answered him that I really wanted to pray for that decision as I am really lacking some passion for teaching. He said he said he will help me pray for it.

As I think about that offer, I feel a bit excited. At the same time I fear getting involved to teaching as I don't really know if I can impart something to my future students.

Well maybe, it's about time to get involved and touch lives. Maybe it's time to consider the long lost proffession I am supposed to be doing eversince. Maybe I really have to step out of my comfort zone.

I am still really praying about it. And I think, one more push from the Lord and I'll explore the world of teaching that I should've done before. Still, I doubt my effectivity, but if this is really his will for me, I have to get out in Faith and in Trust in Him.

Sort:  

Great post :)

Well I am so glad you liked it @top5attractions. Thank you for taking the time to read it. 😁

There's nothing as good as finding fulfillment in all that you do.

Teaching is a great profession and if you are destined for it, go for it.

teachers-day-Gift-300x300.jpg

Aww. Thank you @ibeh-uche-sam. This is so awesome!

👍👍👍

hey, thanks for reading!

Go for it! If it is what your heart wants, follow it.

hahha. thank you @zeppelin. Really praying for it. :)

:) Grabeng nakakapagod lang talaga yan hehe. Paguwi, gawa pa ng lesson plan, pero as long as you enjoy your job, ok lang yun :)

Totoo. Sobra. As in late ka na matutulog para matapos lahat pati mga materials. Tapos gigising ka ng maaga para bukas. Haha