The Farmer Boy

in #life4 years ago

Hello everyone,
Here in Davao city we are still under quarantine but not so tight like before.
It has been loosen up. We can go out to small villages and farms nearby the city.

I was looking for a small lot to buy as an investment and the lot that the boy stand is for sale.
IMG_9158.jpg this image is permitted by the father and all other images below

I love seeing farms and I am fascinated by it. I like and admire farmers.

IMG_9155.jpg

The father and son plant vegetables here. They are the caretaker of the land.
The father and son plant Okra, eggplant (brinjal) and pumpkin.

When I arrived with some friends, they were picking these vegetables. I took some picture and did ask permission. They both very happy to be photographs.

IMG_9159.jpg

I am surprise that Okra and eggplant are not that tall. They were short as just around my knee high.
The vegetables has so many flowers and shoots. Ready to harvest.

For many of you may not really experienced how the taste of this vegetables when it is just harvested and you cook them?

Because I am a vegetable eater, I know the difference. The taste is more sweet. Or you may say it is just in my brain. Perhaps yes, but fresh stuff and you know it is grown normally without any chemicals are taste better than grown commercially.

I ask the father if I can buy those vegetables from them. They both smiling and say YES! So they pick more Okra and eggplants.

The closeup look of Okra while fruit
IMG_9160.jpg

IMG_9156.jpg

** I actually thought that Okra is facing down when they turning into vegetables. The shoot actually point upside.**

**I love Okra by just bringing it to boil. You do not need to cook it longer than 2 minutes as they turn soggy. In-fact, I just drop it into hot boiling water and remove it. **Making salad with Okra vegetables has a fantastic taste. Add some chilli paste and salt on to it and you done.

**In Singapore, Okra vegetables also cook like steam, dry and added with very fine vegetable sales and sesame oil and you are done.

The Eggpant
This vegetables is also great with salad but you need to cook it about 5 minutes as it is kind of hard when not cook well. Cut in bite pieces. The same goes with chilli paste and salt with lemon juice. You cann add some raw onions and tomato with okra too.
IMG_9164.jpg
Well , this is it for me today.
Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day ahead of you.
LOve @ElvieLins

Sort:  

That's a big farm of okra plantation, I'm not sureif I have ever had the eggpant

@joetunex Okra and eggplant seems a common vege here in Philippines