Sort:  

I'm not sure if swearing less will help my parenting - but it certainly will demonstrate that we can make changes in our lives even when we are "grown ups".

Yes, you are teaching them that you change whenever you want. Kids tend to learn through our example. If you tell them not to swear by swear like a sailor, they will ignore your instructions.

Yes - do as I say not as I do - is probably a strategy that will not pay off in the long run. While my spouse will probably continue swearing - I can perhaps be an "alternate example" - they also go to a faith based school which provides extensive moral, ethical and spiritual instruction. At the end of the day - they'll be 20 one day and will have to make up their own mind on it - I can only show them how different people live their lives - its up to them to choose!

Ultimately it will be there choice. My son attended a faith based school up until middle school, it help reinforce the values my husband and I believed in. Today, my son is a kind and caring gentleman.