July's Hug In A Box. BuddyBox #3 Review. A Emotional Pick Me Up || Emilia Woodhouse

in #life7 years ago


I love writing these monthly reviews for the Buddybox. Most of the boxes, ok all of the boxes I receive I love. Every month it makes me all warm and happy inside when my box arrives as I know that the box will force me to take time out of my busy day, which is the whole point of the box. 


Check out my March and April Reviews


Every month has a different theme, July’s Theme was ‘All At Sea’


We don’t know about you, but we sometimes we plough on with a foggy head, an inability to focus, stormy thoughts and an overwhelmedness that is hard to put into words. We don’t feel as though we’re doing enough nor being enough.
It’s with those feelings in mind that we designed this BuddyBox care package to help us steer through the storms. Sometimes we get bogged down by other people’s expectations of us that we forget that we are the captain of our ship (we’ve included an iron-on patch to remind you of this). We hope the Serenity Conscious Water will work some way to counteracting the turbulence of a foggy head. Being beside the sea is often a calming experience, but for those of us who don’t live near the sea, the Yankee Candle will bring a dose of the sea to your door. I Want to be Calm and How to Make Better Decisions are included as tools to help you make some sense of it all, to help you feel in control of your decisions and to help you find a piece of calm in the midst of all storms. You’ve got this.



What was included in this month's BuddyBox?

  • Sea Air Small Yankee Candle Jar
  • How To Make Better Decisions by Mapology Guides
  • Flower Essence Serenity Conscious Water
  • I Want To Be Calm; How To De-Stress by Harriet Griffey
  • Be The Captain Of Your Own Ship iron on patch
  • Issue 10: Blurt Zine
  • Inspiring Print/Quote


I just love candles. I have them scattered about my home and if you come to my house any night of the week you can bet your bottom dollar that I will be burning a candle or two. So this will be the first thing I use. 


The Yankee Sea Air Candle has a very fresh smell, I usually opt for super sweet smells however, I do like to light a fresh smelling candle when I’ve cleaned my house, just to give it an extra boost of a clean smell.


I’ve flicked through and read several pages of the I Want To Be Calm; How To De-Stress by Harriet Griffey book and I can actually see myself reading and enjoying this. It’s not too intense or “happy clappy” 

I will read this over the next few weeks and write a review ... but so far so good. 



The guide on ‘How To Make Better Decisions’, sounds very interesting. It offers 9 tools on how to deal with every dilemma. I must admit with certain life decisions, I can find myself paralysed, wondering what the “right” decision is.


The map is broken up into 4 categories, for life, work, grown up and heart stuff and gives numerous examples for each category. So after using the map and using it for myself, I think it’s ok, for basic everyday things great but don’t expect huge transformation.  Although the road to transformation it paved by a each single step ... so who knows. 

Pros: It folds up so you can put in your handbag or pocket. So it’s easily accessible throughout your day.  

Cons: Several of our issues are sub/un-conscious. So it assumes the user is aware of all their limiting beliefs. 


The Blurt Zine is really underrated in my opinion. It’s such a small part of the of the but one of the most important pieces. Published in issue 10 is 5 Ways Water Soothes The Soul and Steering Through The Storms. 




Summary

My faves are no doubt the candle and the book, the rest are just small fillers in my opinion. It doesn’t mean they are rubbish, just not as helpful. 


If you’d like to join me and give next month’s box a try (September 2017) then make sure you order ASAP to guarantee you receive your box within the first 2 weeks of September. 

September’s BuddyBox Theme: The School of You. The world can feel so loud, so loud and influential that we feel a little unsure of who we really are. We think we should be better, different, more. When really, we’re all just muddling along, doing our best on this steep learning curve of life; stumbling, learning and growing.



 

I hope you have enjoyed this post.  

For more happiness tales and tips follow me on:

Twitter

Pinterest

Instagram 

Bloglovin'

Visit my website

Show your support:
Please UPVOTE this post if you found it interesting/helpful
Donate via Paypal using the following link:  http://bit.ly/2nJuebD

And remember to subscribe/follow

Sort:  

best tips for happiness thanks :) and i love candles too :)

Thanks :-)))))

you are so beautiful <3 <3 :*

Lol, thank you :-))))

hehehe :* welcome

I ordered my best friend one of this month's buddy boxes. I hope she enjoys it as much as you did x

I'm sure she will. My friend ordered one for his sister as well 😁

They really do a great thing over at the charity.

Exactly, that's what I support more than anything. We all suffer with some form of mental illness at some point in our lives so I'm glad more people are talking about it to create less of a stigma behind depression/anxiety etc. "It's ok not to be ok" ... my favourite quote ♥

I have a couple of charities I support, and this is one of them. I think you can't change the world, but you can make a difference to parts of it that touch you, so I try to make a difference here.

My favourite quote, one I have used many times, is "Telling someone with a mental illness to ‘snap out of it’ is like telling someone who is deaf to listen harder.”

I couldn't agree with u more

Good post.

Love the post - Great content - Great Pictures and the perfect outlook on life!! ENJOY IT!

thank you, that's very kind :-)

Thank you too... 💕

Interesting post !!!!!!!
worthy content for upvoting and following...!!!
Thanks for sharing it !!!

I am working with the #promo-uk team and @stephenkendal to promote steemit on a UK tour around 22 universities during freshers week! As a promonent UK steemian, we would like to ask for your support and if you have time, even to come and join us for whatever time you can spare at your nearest university!

The tour started in Manchester today, does a trip around the country and ends up in Lancaster on 07th Oct.

THIS link will show you the tour route, meeting times and meet up locations.

THIS link shows you our success around Manchester today!

It would be really great if you could make it to one of these promotional events to have some fun talking Steemit and letting people know how great it is!!

We are also presenting at the London investors fair on 20th October. We plan to get together with some steemians in a London bar after the event for some drinks (which we will put 150 GBP behind the bar for)
HERE is a summary of our last meetup

Please reply to this or contact me in steemit.chat if you are interested to take part or support our work!