Life

in #life7 years ago

I am struggling. My son's dad is a heroin addict. He had been clean for over 2 years! He relapsed recently and wants to be able to have parent time with my son. That. Is not going to happen.
Now listen, I am supportive of his recovery and I will give him parent time when he's not using. His mom (who I call the Dragon Lady) Is completely enabling him. I feel like if I don't hold him accountable, no one will. The amount of manipulation that addicts use can be so hard. I know he feels like it's not a big deal because "relapse is a part of recovery." Those are his words. As if he didn't put himself in the position to use again. As if he didn't make the choice to use again and we should go easy on him.
Now, my son is struggling too. Of course he is. He's worried he's not going to be able to see his dad on Christmas. He's wondering when he's going to see him again. Yet, He doesn't want to talk to him on the phone. It's all so confusing and I'm on the verge of tears all day.
I'll just take it one day at a time. 20171105_123653.jpg
This is my very handsome son and his dog Blinkin.

Sort:  

That young man is worth staying strong for. One of these days he'll thank you for the days you were on the verge of tears keeping him safe.

I really hope so. I worry he's going to resent me. He's a smart kid though. So I do have hope.

Such a tough situation. I was in love with an addict, I understand the mass amount of pain they bring upon all who are in their lives. Especially the children, who have a tough time processing.

Stay strong and stand your ground. Your son knows if and when he can talk to his father. Allow him to make this decision- this will also help him feel empowered in a relationship where he can easily feel out of control and victimised.

Thank you for that. It is hard to know what's right in regards to my son. I don't want to cause him more pain.