My story

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My name is Emily. Today I am 30 years old, a medical assistant, a mom, and a fiancee. I enjoy dancing, karaoke, and reading. My life is pretty great right now.
It wasn't always this good. It's been pretty rough at times. I'll just dive into it. When I was little, I always wanted to work in healthcare. That wasn't really in my cards though. I was born into the infamous Kingston Polygamous Clan. My future would consist of, marrying a married man and having a baby every year. Most of the girls my age wanted to get married at 15 and start having babies. I wanted to graduate high school and get married at 18. I got teased because I would be an old maid by then and nobody would want me. Looking back, 18 is still too young to get married.
Anyway, back to being in the medical field. I always tried to help when siblings were sick. I loved mothering the babies. I didn't get sick very often. I did get headaches a lot though and I did vomit a lot. I thought was normal, so I didn't mention it. I would avoid being noticed by waking up when it was still dark outside and vomiting in the compost heap. Yeah we were polygamists, but we were still green gosh darnit!😁 Anyway, one of my older sisters, we always shared a room, brought it to my mom's attention. My mom figured my eyesight was bad (Most of my family wears glasses, including myself). She made an appointment with the optometrist in town. They dilated my eyes and found swelling on the optic nerve. They called Primary Children's Hospital in Salt Lake, which was about 3 hours away, and we drove there that night. I had an MRI, and low and behold, there was a tumor in my brain (I call her Beatrice now, she's grown on me GET IT! GET IT!). She had caused hydrocephalus, which explained the headaches and vomiting. So I needed emergency surgery to drain the fluid on my brain AND so I wouldn't die. The doctors told my parents they wanted to do it ASAP, but gave them some time to process. So, and I heard about all of this later, other members of the clan were telling my parents not to get the surgery. The doctors were lying to them. Fortunately for me, my parents are smarter than that. They got the surgery. I lived (obviously). ... and I'll tell you more later.

Sort:  

This is my younger sister! I just found out that she joined steemit this week. 😮

Glad to have you here M!