I Became Familiar With Mouths This Week

in #life7 years ago

I have been practicing with all kinds of mouth shapes, young and old, male and female.

I'm comfortable with sketching (basic) mouths from my imagination after putting in a couple days of work, but I still have some progress to make before I feel like I can move on to the next level of my brand of quality.

By the way, my next focus will be on different expressions of emotion and action, so please stay tuned ;)

selfie img


On the left side of the page below is a completed sketch I started last Wednesday PM. It could have benefited from a bit more time and concentration, but I can live with it.
Thursday's work started on the right-hand side. I warmed up by sketching basic eyeball-related shapes after reviewing eye anatomy. (I've done some short studies in the past with eyes and feel comfortable drawing eyes for the most part). However, once I filled the page, I hesitated. The idea of drawing the lip and mouth area in detail was a bit daunting.

15dec_portrait-mouths1


Here on the left I was stalling a bit because I felt like I wasn't doing very well and I lost focus. So I made this odd little geometric lady-portrait before having a little go at the mouth a couple times more (the subject I intended to draw all along, right?).

The right side of the page became a different story. Finally - I got it! I tuned out all the static upstairs and really focused more on value and making the right kind of lines to represent said values, rather than "does that look like a mouth?!", or "that shape doesn't go there!" I was far more pleased with the page below than my previous attempts. The character in the bottom right corner is wearing a slightly disturbing smile...

15dec_portrait-mouths2


On the left page below, I continued to refine more lips. I felt good at this point and I was filling the pages more quickly. The same afternoon I had some spare time while at a busy shopping center. I saw a smoking man, some storefront signs and a dog while I was waiting. I've immortalized them here below on the right.

15dec_mouths-smoker


A few more examples here. I didn't have as much time to spend drawing on the 16th as I would have preferred, but at least I managed to get a little bit done. Lips are so tricky for me to precisely depict, especially on male subjects. The challenge is making them appear to have the correct volume. I'm still learning :)

The 17th was the same scenario, not nearly as much time to draw as I wanted. But practice is still practice, which is why I typically take my sketchbook everywhere I go. Another bonus to bringing my book along? Observing a huge variety of subject material - IRL - I love it more with each passing day!

16dec-17dec_warmup


Sunday's work (18 Dec.) is what you see below. Although I was busy today spending holiday time with family, I did manage to crank out some nicer, more refined mouths. As always, I see room for improvement, but I also see a pretty good looking page from my sketchbook and that's not too bad :D

18dec_mouths


Thank you for taking the time to watch my progression. Tell me what you think! Feedback helps me grow.

Make Today Great and Be Easy :) <3 <3

Sort:  

Wow your drawings are really good.

Very kind, I thank you

Nice progress on your work. Mouths can be tricky, I agree! The smallest thing can totally change the quality of the likeness. Teeth are the hardest!

You are absolutely correct, the tiniest of details that can make or break a portrait! That's one of the challenges of working with ink that I enjoy ;)

Those are much better than I could do!

Ah, but you already can. The only catch is desire and practice my friend :)
Your work is impressive in its own right!

Thank you. I was quite an artist many years ago in school. In fact, my older sister was even better. She does incredible work. She attended Kansas City Art Institute and became a Graphic Designer. She still does a lot of sketches. I have tried getting her on Steemit to share her work, but like everyone else I try to recruit, she is skeptical and says she doesn't have time. It's very frustrating.

It's okay - once people start to see the light, they will thank you for sharing! Everyone is too busy for everything - unless they choose to MAKE time.

I almost went to UT Arlington to finish my degree, but circumstances changed and I changed my mind. Some of my first memories involve me drawing, but besides a couple of high school art classes I have no formal training in anything art-related. (My AAS is non-art :P ) It's a very serious hobby now.

I believe the best, most productive talents don't come from formal training, but from the gifts God gives us. We just have to figure out how to apply those gifts in everyday life and do something great with them.

Couldn't have said it better myself! :D