Valentine's Day Cold Chicken

in #life5 years ago

About two days ago (probably longer), I caught a pretty bad cold. Pretty nasty one going around making the rounds...

That night, we (and when I say we, I really mean the others) made a chicken porridge, and I accidentally swallowed a bone. We used chicken drumsticks to make it, so it's one of those small side pieces that has a point to them. Cartilage I think.

I felt it first get stuck somewhere. And that was an odd feeling. But then I thought maybe it cleared. But then I felt it... On and off, and it was fairly uncomfortable on the throat. Not to mention the idle fear of "what if I'm making things worse if there's really some piece stuck there?" I mean, I had been eating normal meals which seemed fine so probably it was just the lumpiness but the mind wouldn't keep asking if there was something stuck there or not. I had to ask.

And now I'm at a doctor to see if I can figure out what's going on....

Cue idle music

...and it turns out the stuck feeling is a lumpiness in my throat that is separate. Looks like symptoms of acid reflux. That old thing I already knew I had, but was worried the chicken cartilage thing made worse. But no, no piece stuck inside. One thing I can stop worrying about and just eat. Although now I'm reminded of things I should be avoiding. But how do you give up coffee? No no no. Impossible.... Or is it.... But anyway, I still have a cold to finish getting over.

Yup, that's right, Miss Cold.

I'm not over you.

...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Oooh you had me scared for you. I am so glad there is no bone! I kind of felt it in my own throat!

As of for the coffee, I am not sure how to give it up, but perhaps ways to help the acid situation. Have you tried putting coconut oil in with your coffee?
For acid reflux I have a chewable, minty flavored thing that's called Calmacid. It is from melaleuca and it helps wonders. It stops the acid reflux and gives a boost of calcium too.

A quick search said this:

A Dash of Salt. Salt is typically added to coffee grounds before brewing or to a finished cup to reduce bitterness or smooth out the flavor of brew that's too acidic, but some also use this method to neutralize the acid in coffee for the purpose of decreasing the chances of an acid reflux flare up.

And also this:

Select coffee that's advertised as low-acid. Some coffee beans undergo processing with steam or solvents to remove some of their acidity. ...
Opt for a dark roast coffee. Dark roast coffees, such as Italian and French roast, are usually lower in acid than light or medium roast varieties. ...
Use coarsely ground coffee...

Add about a quarter teaspoon of baking soda to your coffee beans for a pot of coffee, or you can add just a pinch (small pinch) to your cup of coffee.

There are a few other ways but not sure if you want to try it, like egg shells and cold brewing. Hope some of that can help :)

If you test any of them out, could be awesome as a post :p

This looks very useful. I did put some salt in my coffee today. but I don't know if it did anything because I generally don't feel the acid (GERD is 'silent'). But I think it helped haha.

Maybe baking soda hmmm. I know that stuff is bitter. And possibly will make the coffee taste yick.

Coconut oil though.... that could be a winner! Thanks for the tips~

You are welcome. I'm hoping for the best!

If I already get pissed of and afraid when I get a fish bone stuck on my throat I can't even imagine how I would get if I got a freaking chicken bone stuck on my throat! I normally try to push fish bones with a huge piece of bread and water...

I haven't gotten a cold in ages! Good diet, vitamins and a lot of exercise makes it so I almost never get sick!

Yeah. that was so weird... porridge is kinda of soft for the most part, so it was like sluurrrrp ACK!. yeah..... exercise is on my list. gotta get on it haaaha

Im so over my cold. But its not over me. Holding on for dear life. And i keep taking it back again and again, i gotta get my act together and kick it for good!

Yeah, get rid of that no-good parasite. yick!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 2.71% upvote from us for your 258 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.959 which ranks you at #1173 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server