If you want to achieve anything, don't wait for the right mood - start, and it will follow

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Don’t wait for moods – Start, and the mood will follow

pexels-photo-351978.jpeg


Whether you‘re an artist wanting to start or finish your great project, whether you want to improve yourself by going to the gym regularly, or whether you have to start learning for that important exam ahead.

Waiting for moods to come is a really bad choice if you want to achieve anything in life.

Well, what on earth is the purpose of a mood then?, you might ask.

Every time you find yourself feeling like it would now be the perfect moment to finally start the first chapter of that book, to finally rise up and get yourself to the gym or to finally open that damn book about tensor calculus for the first time, you’re in the mood to begin.
Good old subconciousness has then generously announced your current state to be adequate for beginning whatever it is you want to do. The constant force that normally keeps you away from doing your important work, (I like to call it resistance) is at its weakest then.
And that’s great - there are few things better than being in the right mood to write/excercise/learn and then commit yourself for hours to that task, instantly reaching flow state and making huge progress.

The problem is, these moods are very very shy, and you can’t control them.

(If you can, please stop reading, because this article is not for you 😉 )

Whatever goal it is you want to achieve, whatever better version of yourself you want to become, chances are high you will only feel like it’s the right time and place to work further towards that in rare and special moments. During the other 95% of your time, you are held back and controlled by resistance, the most evil invention of your subcontiousness.

But what if you would let the conscious, rational and decision making part of your Self, the realYou that you identify with, take control over your actions, instead of being a slave to your feelings?

What if you’d just… start?

What if you would say to yourself:

“Fuck resistance! I’ll start here and now, for I can hear the calling of my vision loud and clear, day and night! “

Oh boy, things would start to get rolling.

They really do!

I myself had to recall all of this before I finally sat down and started writing the words you are now reading.

I wasn’t in the mood to write at all.

Now, having started, the words seem fly onto the screen all on their own, and I am once more amazed that if you force yourself to start the damn thing, the right mood will come while you are doing it - not the other way round.

Start, and the mood will follow.

Wait for the mood and you’ll never start.


------------------------------------

Thank you for reading my first post on Steemit guys! I'm really glad I have found this site, and I've got a lot of plans for the future.


Should you spot anything that you disagree with, please tell me in the comments, I would love to have a discussion with you. :)


It might be interesting to note that I write my articles for myself too, as much as for you, the reader, It allows me to formulate my thoughts and beliefs, clearing up my head in the process.


If you want to read more Posts about creativity, philosophy, willpower and the future of life, feel free to follow me! @eonwe

Sort:  

Congratulations @eonwe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @eonwe! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!