Thoughts about privacy

in #life6 years ago

rant.jpg

I'm quite strict about my privacy in general. I like to invite people in my life ofc, but in my own terms. This morning made me think privacy more than I usually sacrifice time for thinking things that are obvious to my self. But when you woke up to the sound of key turning in lock, and you don't know who's coming in, you are forced to think about privacy a little.

Thanks to my renovation I have had to give away keys to my apartment. Okay, I had no choice, workers need to get in when they need to. But I couldn't even imagine how anxious I would feel about it. People coming and going in my private zone, without me controlling it.

For me my home is castle of solitude, safe haven and the most private place on earth. The one place were I can control everything. Not like I'm control freak or anything... When that privacy is compromised it makes me cranky AF.

In this case, family is the worst I'm afraid. I'm the most solitude person in my family. I like to keep things to my self, and I enjoy my own company. That's kinda fucked up situation when your family is full social overload. Even when I live in totally different city, they come and go as they please. And nobody ever bother to call me or give any kind of heads up.

HOW DO YOU THINK ABOUT PRIVACY?

For me it really doesn't matter what is the case and place, respecting ones privacy comes always first. This is also the reason I hate when people DM's me without asking first. Rude, just rude! Where goes the line of between keeping privacy and isolationism?

Sort:  

I sleep a lot with my doors unlocked, literally anyone could enter into my house whenever they want. I'm more paranoid about my laptop security than house security.

It's not about paranoid in this case, that's another story:D but I hate when people intrude to my personal zone, without permission

I guess then my laptop is my personal zone :)

It really is to me too. And my phone! I dont let anyone touch it:D

My phone is always upside down on a table or in my pocket, and sometimes people get unintentionally injured when trying to touch it without my permission.

Question - how soon will you change your locks when the reno is done?

Not sooner than immediately:)

Had neighbors knocking on my door at 10:00 pm so I installed a security light that included a camera and speaker. Next few times they came over - I could see them, and I played a recorded message that said they were being videoed, and I was not available at the time. This ended the visits. I can also see what is happening remotely (my phone) at my front door 24/7. I can see when my Amazon products are delivered, and can check the weather when I am out of town. Great investment for 200 bucks!

I'm afraid this wouldn't stop my family:D But seems like a great investment tho!

" And nobody ever bother to call me or give any kind of heads up."
this would totally mess my mood for the rest of the day

It usually does ! That’s why i’m so cranky bitch😂

I am sure this could be fixed. would you choose tickling, pinching or spanking as a medicine?:P

Can i choose only 1!

they are most effective when used together. So I would recommend at very least 2 of these options...

Even when I get an unexpected knock on the door my protective instincts go overboard and I get edgy. However I enjoy friends dropping by because thats how I grew up. I tend to respect others privacy more than mine. Simply because I am not super private.

Even if i know to whom i have given keys and it's like 5 person, still, every single time i hear that key turning in lock sound i get creeps. The adrenaline spike from that is definitely the most effective way to woke up.

This is why you should own a gun and shoot everyone who looks like they are coming to your house :D

(disclaimer: don't actually do that)

Haha! I dont want to kill my family, more like educate them to act like normal humans do 😁

Just shoot with a BB gun, it'll hurt enough to do the trick.

Congratulations @escapist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

never had this problem. family never ever visits. It would be nice to have a happy middle ground

Mun "not today"-kuva kertoo kaiken siitä miten hyvin otan ihmiset elämääni.

Täytyy myöntää, ihailen tyyliäsi;)

Arvostan sitä

Sietääkin, en ihaile montaakaan asiaa.