My Struggles Of Being a Tall Girl

in #life8 years ago

As far as I can remember, I was tall. Right now, I have 5’11.(=180 cm)
The first thing that people say, when they see me after a long period of time: “Oh, you grew up so much!”
When I was five in kindergarten, six year old kids were looking at me with disbelief: “Are you not lying that you are five years old? You are so tall!”
It didn’t bothered me until adolescence. I freaked out, when I grew up like seven centimeters in just one summer. I was twelve, and I already had 5’7. (=170 cm)
Not only that, but I’m also really thin. All of my life, I was like that, no matter how much I ate. Imagine my granny’s horror.
Of course, being so tall, I was noticeable in my class. Before boys started to grow up, both mentally and physically. Couldn't find a picture from my album, but it looked like this:

But not all of the attention was pleasant, especially from the boys, who gave me mean nicknames.
I was always shy and introverted girl and above all, really sensitive. I used to cry a lot and I was ashamed of it, also because I didn’t like to show such strong emotions in front of so many people.
But one of the most hurtful things were said not by the boys. It was just from the one girl in the class:

“With this height, you will never find a boyfriend”.

Remembering that, I often looked at the streets and saw just one picture: incredibly tall guys and…short girlfriends near them.
“What if it was different? Vice versa?”, I always wondered. Because if everyone approved the pairing above, not everyone seemed to agree with the whole “tall girl and short guy” situation.

“It’s kinda funny”, remarked one of my acquaintances.
“It is so good to have a tall boyfriend! I remember, I stood on the tiptoes just to kiss him!”, sighed another one.
So, another granny’s nightmare was that I’ll date the guy, which is shorter than me. Like a dwarf.
Well, you may expect the drama now, where I started to date a short guy and we were forced to hide our forbbiden love. But it didn’t happened. Now I have a boyfriend which is taller than me. What a twist!
Still, my main point which I’m about to express, remains.
Yes, in the end, I didn’t experience the “tall girl and short guy” situation. Not that I was concerned, anyway. I did have crushes on the guys, who were shorter than me and at times like these, I didn’t care.
In general, I don’t think about my height or weight at all. I’m feeling happy and accept my body just the way it is. I never force myself to eat too much or have a diet. Maybe, I'm just lucky with my genetics.

In fact, the only thing that should matter, is only your relationship with the person you love, no matter how tall,short,chubby or whatever he/she is.
And healthy relationship with yourself, too.

Sort:  

Love the attitude!

Congratulations @estrofiore! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @estrofiore! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @estrofiore! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!