Someone is Eager to Move!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

1289BA57-7391-4D3F-B422-A11616EE8031.jpeg

Since you guys like it when I ramble about my life, and include shitty phone pics, that is what you are getting today. Though I don’t think many people are online as it is the weekend, and Steemit has been dead for months already... I don’t care, I’ll still be posting away.

I’m moving in three weeks, but because I have time and I’m excited, I have already started packing! That is what I have been doing for today, excluding the unnessessary nap and diving deep into the world of fashion and makeup Youtube. I know, a waste of time, but I like to have some background noise so I don’t feel so lonely in this apartment, snif!

That was a very awkward transition to the fact that my apartment is the opposite of lonely! My studio apartment is so stuffed, it’s not even funny. And yes, lonely and empty are not the same thing, but I think you got my point. I know I’m a materialist and I’m sure that won’t change any time soon, but I do need some serious decluttering. It is doing me some good to move so I have to go through everything and it’s easy to throw out a lot of the things I now longer need/use/want.

About Clothing


I’m doing some serious thinking on my spending habits as I am going through every item I have bought in the last 5+ years. I have been getting better at only buying quality items, but I have still a lot of fast fashion in my closets that I have collected over the years and not thrown out yet. Now it’s the time to do that, and it feels damn good. I think from now on, I should only buy designer items so I won’t have money to buy shitty clothing in huge quantities.

I really like clothing and shoes, personal style is important to me, though you wouldn’t see much of that here because I tend to be half naked on my photos. If you wish to see more of the everyday me, mirror selfies and what I’m wearing, you should follow me on Lit!

Kitchenware



Another thing I have a huge quantity in my apartment, is kitchenware. I used to be a chef and loved cooking, so over the years, I have collected a lot of kitchen stuff. Pans, pots, knives, baking utensils, bowls, cake tins, all you can think of. I have tried to declutted some of those, because I barely cook anymore, but I won’t be throwing out much of that, because I suspect my love for cooking and baking might come back some day.

Along with all the cooking tools, I have enought plates, mugs and glassware for the whole family. And I live alone. It’s almost exclusively quality Iittala and Arabia items, so those I definitely will not throw away, even though I use only a fraction of it. I could always sell some, but I really can’t be bothered with that. I will be keeping everything for the slight chance that I will some day live with someone and have more use for it all.

Furniture



I will be bringing only one item of furniture with me to the new apartment, the beautiful leather armchair. Everything else will be sold or given to someone, no piece of Ikea will come with me to the new apartment. I can’t handle the souless and cardboard like furniture anymore. It’s all good if you are into clean Scandinavian design, and/or have a tight budjet, or just don’t care about what your home looks like, but it’s not my style, it’s been a compromise.

The Ikea stuff is functional but now it’s time to move on from it. My taste in interior design is a mix of bohemian and items that would have been found in a late 1800s study or drawing room, with a few modern elements. And plants, lot’s of plants! The modern parts will be mostly due to flooring, wall material and the actual build of the apartment. I’ll bring in the colour and soul with my items that I will carefully curate. This time I won’t compromise on anything, I’d rather be without until I find the perfect one for me.

I will have build in cabinets in the new apartment, to probably fit most of my clothing. But then I will be getting a few antique pieces when I find the right ones. I’m looking for a small desk and a hefty dark wood drawer, for starters. I’m also thinking of getting a blue or turqoise velvet couch, and a big Persial carpet. And I need a bed, the current one is killing my back. Oh oh oh and I want an Emmanuelle (or peacock) chair to the balcony! But all in good time, I’m not in a hurry with any of those.

Whoops, that turned into a proper ramble about a lot of home stuff, wasn’t meant to do that, but oh well... Let’s just blame it on me being super excited about moving into a bigger and better apartment!

40948E24-1512-4F12-B343-C8228447597C.jpeg

78BCF0D4-4665-4606-A350-B1A04BA7E526.jpeg

Ps. I know materia doesn’t bring true happiness and all that blablabla, no need to tell me. You do you in your only pair of shoes and jeans, and I do me in what I like and feel that I want in my life. Okay? Okay.

Sort:  

Materia doesn't bring joy to your life !

You are just begging the dominatrix in me to come out, it won't work!

Biz senin için endişelenirken meğersem ecnebilerle birlikteymişsin reyiz.

@steeminator3000

Your reputation on Steamet is so great that I hope and hope you have a good upvote meet. And if taken in the case of clothing, your choice is great and you look good, hopefully you will continue to send your best posts and pictures in this manner. Keep it up.

Materialism is cute 😍 Your new intended home style sounds interesting, looking forward to seeing your new dream home materialize 😃

All of the best with the packing and throwing away all the unneeded stuff!! Perhaps you can give some to some needy people.

Your new home plans sound awesome. You'll finally have the space to be you! I'm sure we are all looking forward to seeing what you do over time. Stay strong. Stick the the plan. Don't cave! ;)