Technology, My Lifeline

in #life6 years ago

78CBD7FE-54AD-4D3C-9CFE-9A21BB859127.jpeg

3D8B786E-78E9-40D4-B6B6-6C89BA5D91E3.jpeg

Today, I am more dependand on my electronic gatgets than ever before in my life.

I need my laptop, phone and camera to work for me all day every day. I can’t affort to loose any members of that team. If any of them fail, I have no means of making my living here.

Lately I’ve been having major issues with my laptop. I have a six year old Macbook Air, which is basically meant to be used just for browsing the world wide web, and it can’t take the heat of RAW files. Working on pictures in Photoshop is THE MOST important thing I use my computer for. Now the laptop is becoming just a fancy paperweight. I have a new Macbook Pro on my shopping list and I’m just waiting for Bitcoin to rise a little so I can get it. And no, I do not want to hear about how I could get a PC that can do everything better with half the price, so save your typing for someone else.

I’m actually writing this post on my phone, while waiting for the Image capture application to crash for the fifth time in a row while importing the pictures from yesterday. I can’t deal with that right now, it’s already been a long day, though a fun one!

As for the pictures in this post, they are iPhone shots from the Helsinki Design Museum exhibition called California: Designing Freedom, which is about the technologinal revolution, design and how the Silicon Valley has had a huge impact on all of our lives. I highly recomment going to see it if you have the change. It’s especially interesting to people on the blochain as we are already part of the new technological revolution.

BC060BB4-8950-49AB-A937-3F87A725CD58.jpeg

5B502935-5E9F-46E4-8461-1AF541551345.jpeg

Sort:  

I hope your gadgets will be up and running as they are supposed to as soon as possible. Do you have any irreplaceable data on your laptop?

Some, but mostly I’ve been putting all the pictures straight to external hard drive, but my computer no longer shows it..

Do you take back up copies of your external hard drive regularly?

I've been considering taking every coin I have out of the exchanges. But the problem is I have so many kinds of coins that I don't feel like having that many wallets and managing that many private keys.

Never 😂

Ouch. You should. It's highly recommended.

Or you can upload them to a cloud service. Having them on a professionally run service might be for the best.

Get a Mac and an iPhone... Oh, oh, right x) Good job writing this on the phone, the amount of typos and insane wordings are surprisingly low for such a long post :D The pics are just fine, it's more about the operator once again.

Toivottavasti ollu kivaa täällä ^^

Haha I guess that was a compliment! Thanks 😁

On kyllä, hieman keli kyllä latistaa mut muuten oikein mukavaa 😛

Hähä :P Aivan hyvä keli jopa, ei tieten aurinkoista talvipäivää, mutta ei myöskään vaakatasossa räntää jne. Ja onni ollu myötä kun en oo sattunu kohdalle myöskää xD

Joo, ollaan vältelty kaikkia pyöräteitä!

Haahaa xD En oo eilisen iltapäivän jälkeen pyörällä liikkunu, sanoinhan että oon läski :D

was that display sponsored by the California tourism bureau?

Maybe 😂 they know how to market themselves!

Before you said it was in Helsinki I assumed it was in California

The weather might be a little better in California 😁

You can drive to any weather you please in California

I have a graveyard of defunct devices that I haven't gotten rid of. They're relatively small, so don't take up much space.

I keep saying I'll cannibalize them to re-use a display or some internal parts - but let's be honest -- it would be like dissecting a pet.

Unfathomable and grotesque.

I'll likely get them recycled eventually. But until then, they sit on a shelf with darkened displays, silently watching time slip by.

Why is it so hard to get rid of old electronics, even when we know that they won’t be used again and most likely no data can be recovered anymore.

I’m usually good at throwing things away, but I too have some devises gathering up dust.

nah i hear you, i'm currently in the upgrade phase for new video stuff, i just got a crispy new elgato greenscreen which i'm loving, hope you get it sorted soon! i need to come to helsinki one day. so many places in the world to go too! :)

Isn’t is always so exciting getting new tech? 😁

Oh I know, the list keeps growing every day!

i know. life man, it's the best.

so save your typing for someone else.

Can't resist!! Need to type...

My laptop is 2 years old, cost me 500bucks, still amazing to work, the best things to have in a work laptop are : really good SSD and RAM and a okeyish cpu, i checked MacBook Pro and they are both ok, so go ahaed and buy it!! ... Even though you could get a better PC... sorry couldn't resist xD

😈😈😈 I’m gonna get the pimped out version so that we can be happy together for the res.... for 3-5 years 😁

With a pc you could extend that to 9-10 years 😈😈
PS- you mean pimped out as in better hardware or pimped out as in some decals on your pc?

Lol hardware of course! I don’t do bling.

You never know... i once met a hardcore metal girl who liked to put glitter on her laptop... I was never able to look at her the same way

Great post,good work,i like it very much,

Looks like it was a lot of fun!

I consider myself a techno optimist, but I tend to retain a healthy degree of skepticism when it comes to our ability to handle our own creations.

Technology is, in and of itself, a neutral force. The prosperity or destruction it can bring to people is entirely dependent on the hands that hold that force. I see a bright future for humanity thanks to technology, but I also see the possibility of a dark one as well.

Would love to get your thoughts on this : )

Upvoted and happy to read and contribute! Feel free to stop by my latest post if you feel so inclined to share your thoughts! Would be happy to hear them : )

possibly i think they know how to market them selves, thank you @eveuncovered for this wonderful post

You just inspire me this is one of those posts that I will read over and over and over just because the content is very good, is nice to see how people like you keep readers like us reading. keep up the good work.

Great work, who needs raw if you keep your phone handy! I’m sure it won’t be long before the new MacBook arrives, I have a new laptop on my list hopefully before the end of the year but we’ll see. New laptop day is always awesome!!

I need a new laptop day, it’s been six years since the last one! What computer do you use for working on pictures?

Wow, I think it's been about 3 years for me, although I've never spent more than £600 on a laptop, so I'd love to splash out this year. I always used to build our PCs myself to make sure we had something really powerful and great monitors. Now that we get our professional work edited for us we tend to just use my wifes PC for the final adjustments before we send out the files, although we rarely use Photoshop now, honestly you can do 99% of things with just Lightroom! Can't believe how powerful that program has got! My wife just bought a Windows Laptop which is perfect for edits on the go and can push Photoshop and Lightroom fine. I use an old Lenovo L450 which I absolutely love because the keyboard is fantastic, it's splash proof and shock proof etc (lenovo's always are!) and the screen is actually really accurate. Not that vibrant, but accurate. That said it's a bit dated now so it runs lightroom pretty slow and photoshop is a bit of a no go. Love the idea of something like the Surface Pro or a HP x360 but I'd miss the keyboard!

I have to admit, I’m a litte disappointed that you don’t post process youself! 😮 I’ve never actually used Lightroom, I can hardly even get it open before it crashes. I might need to look into that when I get that new and powerful laptop😁

Haha it's just the wedding photos we have an editor for, so everything else is just done on lightroom on the laptop unless I want to really go for it, in which case I'll pop it on the main PC and use photoshop for some brushing and layers! You should definitely give it a try, it's much more intuitive!

i am fully inspired through your post ! Thank you

Nowadays, everybody's lifeline is becoming technology.
Thanks for sharing your story with us :)

Freedom of living modern lifestyle,
it's really amazing life we got now.
Cheers!

If you're struggling to write without a working laptop, you could try use you phone to dictate audio notes to yourself and then send them to a service like Rev . It costs $1 a minute of audio. Alternatively Nuance, the company that makes dictation software, have a premium iPhone app that's worth using. You basically use your phone like a microphone, it sends the audio to the cloud and transcribes it. Later on when at a computer, you can clean it up, edit it and press publish.

So you did not read the not so fine print.. Let me quote myself:

”Working on pictures in Photoshop is THE MOST important thing I use my computer for. ”

Are you so attached by laptops because you can take them to your trips, or is it just because you like to stay on your bed while working?

Both!! 😁😁

Great picture

Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

I am the opposite with technology i just wrote a post about my 'digital detox' come check it out 😃😃