You Gotta Spend Money to Make Money

in #life6 years ago

IMG_5930.JPG

A shit ton of money in this case... Say hello to my new partner, the Macbook Pro 13".

I have made several rants about the old MacBook Air that has been failing on me more and more every day, and it was getting near impossible to first import pictures from the camera and then try and use Photoshop without it crashing every couple of minutes. It was high time to get a working laptop.

This was the second most expensive thing I have ever bought, car was the first, but I don't have it anymore. It's was definitely not an impulse buy, I have been deliberating this for months and knew I had to get it at some point. I wanted to get a really good laptop and as you can see, the specs on this new one are pretty damn impressive compared to the old one. Of course the Air is almost six years old so anything would be an upgrade, but I wanted something super nice with a pimped out hardware that would last me a long time.

IMG_5933.jpg

I was getting a little anxious because when I chose this model from the Apple store, I noticed the delivery time was 3-4 weeks, and I'm going away on holiday in two weeks and I'm not risking a laptop failure while in there. I started looking this model from all the electronics stores in Finland and I found ONE, only one laptop, in the whole damn country, that would ship immediately. So I sold a lot of Steem and SBD (sniff) and ordered it before anyone else could. Even though I had to sell a lot of SBD, it's pretty cool to be able to buy something like this with the earnings from Steemit. All the money I invested to this laptop, goes straight back to making better content and earning more on Steemit to support myself.

I'm so happy that I now have a much better tool to work on my pictures and Steemit posts, it's going to save a lot of time, and more importantly, my nerves. The old laptop was an tiny little 11" and it's fantastic that the 13" is not much bigger than the old one, so it's still very portable. Since quitting my day job, I don't think I've stayed more than five days in the same place, and I do like laying in bed while I work, perfect.

I'm so excited to test out what this baby can do in terms of performance when I really go hard at it with RAW picture files. Every professional photographer has been telling me that I have to start using Lightroom and finally I can because I have a machine that can take the heat. The old one crashed as soon as I tried to import files to Lightroom so I gave up on it. It's gonna take me one time to learn all the new tricks, but I'm very motivated on getting better. The pictures in this post don't represent my photography skills, sorry, I've been too busy with playing that I just took fast pics with the iPhone.

IMG_5931.JPG
I'll miss the light up Apple logo a little.

It took only two days for the delivery, which is very fast for the Finnish postal office. I've spend the whole day getting everything organised, loaded all the programs I need and been cleaning out the old laptop so that I can do a good reboot for it and use it for something stupid like watching Youtube videos while I work on this one. I'm staying in the city for a couple of days, camped up in my apartment alone with the laptop as we get to know each other.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I like new things. I have had to restrain myself a lot. I like photography and need a camera for it. But do I really have to spend $5000 on a new camera for photos? Well, the answer remains to be found out ;) I believe it's not only an investment to potentially make money from it, but it's to invest in my soul, because my soul dearly needs an outlet for an art form.

Congrats man. You won't believe i am also planning to buy laptop and steemit is going to make big contribution in that.
My also plan is to buy Mac book. So how much did it cost you?

I love technology, but the continual treadmill of upgrades and releases can be a pain in the ass.

I tend not to upgrade until something I'm using demands it, and even then I shoot for the middle-to-upper end of the spectrum to stay relevant for at least two years.

Enjoy, got a few upgrades I'm looking at myself...

It feels better when you don't upgrade too often and when you do, you go all in, that's what I tend to do😁

What are you thinking of getting?

Need more storage, so maybe bump up the Network Storage to a few more Terabytes. Its multiple drives for redundancy, so that adds up. Just looking around at vendors and MTBF (Mean Time Between Failure) ratings...

I enjoy looking for and purchasing, but not so much the rebuild times. Small price to pay for keeping data safe, I guess.

I also have a Mac book pro.. for the last 8 years I have the same one and that laptop has been through hell and back by now lol and it still works great! A little slow now but its still fast! You just made a great buy! Congratulations!

It's insane how durable Macs are! There is no way a PC could withstand the stress I've caused for a Macbook over the years 😂

Yeah honestly its true. I have a PC and im on it right now but I have had that many problems in the pass 4 years with this my Mac probably laughs at the sight of it. The only problem I have had with my mac was the battery after 6 years. But after a while the problem happen to magically go away?

I had a custom PC years ago, but I always had some problems with it, you fix one, another one pops up. Never had those kind of problems, even with a tiny and not so powerful MacBook Air. My battery was dying too but isn't it pretty good that it can last for 6 years?

I think it was amazing that it lasted 6 years! I still have the same battery in it today! It just drains extremely fast now. Some days if i don't use my Mac for a while it needs to stay connected regardless of the percentage of the battery. In the 8 years of owning it I went through 3 power cords and they are something like $100 to replace so it wasnt going to break the bank to spend $300 in the 8 years!

Hahaha, I have the same power cord (and battery) it came with, and surprisingly it still works, even though it's completely shattered, I've been too cheap to to buy a new one 😂

How long have you had your air? Are you just going to retire the Macbook air or will you use it for something else?

I got the 15" version and it's awesome! Do you have adobe creative cloud? I pay 11 euro per month for photshop and lightroom.

Yes I do :) So cheap!

Congrats @eveuncovered
Hope you will make more money on this Mac
Then old one
And Become so financially secure that you forget that it’s payday
Good Luck

@eveuncovered enjoy your new baby!

Make more than enough here on steemit. I'm sure you will with this beast of a pc

Congratulations bud hope you make a killing with you're new laptop :D

Congrats for ur new MacBook hope it will be working fine

Good luck with your new MacBook - and I also cannot understand they did let go of the lit Apple logo in the lid sniff ... and the MagSafe connector sniff ...

Yes, that too! Have to be more careful when tripping over the cord :D

Use it on good days.

What if I only have bad ones? 🤔

Congratulations on your new MacBook! You'll get used to the light up Apple logo not being there - the annoying part would have to be the noisy keypad :-(

It doesn't bother me even a little bit :D

Then this laptop is perfect! :D
It only bothers me because I go to uni and people always complain to me about it, haha

Congrats Eevee!!! That’s a beautiful purchase (although I’m not a Mac guy myself).

Can’t wait to see all that’s made with it!

Thanks Jeff, I'm so happy playing with it ☺️

Have a MacBook Pro since last month (You will not regret the purchase in any case)

I know, I have never regretted any Apple products :)

Nice post! My computer is also starting to failing on me... this have made me realize that I probably have to buy a new one. Why did you chose to buy another Air?

Anyway, if you're interested in travel, pole dance or self-development, feel free to check out my channel! Otherwise, have a FANTASTIC day. HUGS 💛

We have the same laptop now, oh oh, I see competition jk 😂🤣

No need to compete, we the same family now, all love here in the Apple land 😂

Na, it pushes me to get better and be better 😝😂 lol

car was the first, but I don't have it anymore

Women driving... JK JK

Good pick on the computer, the specs are good, it will definitely increase your post quality!

Be very very careful right now😈 You have no idea who you are dealing with.

This is a great investment. My husband shoots professional video and he has mad a ton of money with his Macbook Pro. It is a great workhorse. Good luck and have fun !

Congrats !!! is always good work in a new laptop, the best of lucks !!!

Intertextuality. A post about your posts. :) Nice story about the Macbook, i'm jealous. :)

It certainly would be better than what millions of people like us have. Who don't have anything like this. So only are more luckier and happier than this huge lot. Enjoy your time with it. And yea for sure photography skills are going to get upgraded for sure

Good luck my dear

I know how you felt, my laptor it's 7 years old. So i want to say you congratulations and keep writing, because your articles it's very intresting.

That's awesome that you could use the profits from here to buy a new macbook. I look forward to many more fantastic posts in the future :D

I try not to disappoint :)

I’m in the exact same boat right now- I’m hoping to buy one soon but I’m not ready to cash in any of my crypto/Steemit profits...I want my first payday to be LARGE

It was a bit hard to give up all that crypto, but this was an investment for my future. If you can, you prob should hold out a little longer :)

Hay guys saya pemula di stemit alangkah baik nya kita maju bersama di stemit ini

This is a nice gift for yourself but it is actually really useful at the same time. Spending a lot of money to buy a good PC has been my best investment so far. Paying a few thousand euros for a computer has always made the money back multiple times at least for me. I hope your new laptop is useful for you too :)

That feeling off Getting the New one delivered... saw the Same with @missmau she got a New one after the OLD ones battery exploded

Wahoo! New laptop day!! So happy for you, and excited to see what you do with lightroom! I think you’ll love it, it’s actually much easier to get to grips with than PS so if you’re already learning that you’re halfway there! Try to find some good presets and it makes the job way easier, VSCO have some good ones. I don’t like the vintage look but we still use them because it’s pretty easy to use them and not make a vintage looking shot!

I wanna do the pictures myself, not apply some preset like on Instagram 😈

That's fair enough, although honestly I'd say 99% of pro's use something like VSCO or Totally Rad to start their edits, it doesn't totally define your look, just does a lot of the heavy lifting for you in terms of colours. We use a couple of VSCO ones as starting points, then our own presets to give them our 'look' then a few tweaks depending on the image :)

I'm disappointed 😩

Haha sorry to spoil the illusion! Most togs will alter the presets so much that it's kind of their own preset, but presets all the same! It's just so much more efficient! It also helps you make sure your images look consistent, to hone your own 'look'

Jesus, I just opened the Lightroom to start seeing what it is all about. The most confusing looking thing ever! 😭

Haha don’t worry, it feels like that for everyone at first. Like most Adobe software there’s heaps you don’t need. Essentially library is where you import and go through images, we tend to give our images 3 stars if we want to edit them and none of not, then carry on narrowing down as we edit. Develop is where you look at each photo! Maybe I should get my wife to do a Steemit Lightroom basics tutorial!

Never buy cheap shoes or computers! Nothing worse than having a computer that is slow, especially if you have to do some real work with it and not only watch YouTube. For me it also takes a lot of work and time to set my computer right and i really don't want to be doing that every 2 years.

Nice! Enjoy the new computer!! :) I’ve just ordered a few things to play with to improve content too 😊

Congrats, I'm happy for you. I know you'll enjoy it for years. I'm a big Mac fan myself.

steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

Well deserved!

lol.... i'm voting here for pictures of a MacBook (the irony)! ;-)

What is wrong with you? Did you hurt your head!? 😂😂😂

@eveuncovered, one of your steemit friend wish you an Happy Valentine's day and asked me to give you a new badge!

Valentine's Day
To see who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

@eveuncovered, one of your steemit friend wish you an Happy Valentine's day and asked me to give you a new badge!

Valentine's Day
To see who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

That is so exciting! It's always a rush, both of excitement and anxiety, when you get to buy yourself some fancy new hardware. But you are truly moving onward and upward! Excited to see what the new rig will help you produce. 😊

Congratulations on your new Macbook. I also love MBPs and have a few mac laptops I work with. Check this out something in this post may be of use:

https://steemit.com/@bunnypuncher/5-useful-tips-for-macos-group-file-rename-purge-spotlight-custom-app-stack-activity-monitor-read-and-learn-them

I agree with your headline. I also just bought a laptop and it took a hard punch on my savings, but damn it was worth it. Having a machine that works efficiently, with zero glitches and quick processing time is invaluable when you have a thousand projects going on like me. Between my online studies, tutoring business and blogging there is always 10 tabs open, 3 background programs and some type of article or list in progress. I have heard so many great things about Apple, but I am not an Apple user. Do you recommend the switch Steemians? I use my computer to do basic admin, I just got into video editing, a lot of web search and writing.

Sounds just like me, a lot going on at the same time, and of course you can't shut any tabs because you'd be wasting time when you need them soon anyway 😝 Let's just say that I've never been disappointed by any Apple product, and I've owned a lot, but I have been disappointed by a lot of other electronics. Yes, Apple products are expensive, but they last a lot longer that any other. I often recycle my old phones to mum who now uses a four year old iPhone without any problems, while dad has had to buy three new windows and android based ones.

You know what, that is actually my mission. Quality of quantity and sustainability(not in a hug the trees way but with material items) I am deep deep deep in the Windows/Android game right now and you are probably 1 of the 50 people who have advocated on behalf of Apple. I think it's time to switch very soon. Thanks : )

Haha, the cult is strong with Apple products ;)

man lands on the moon too

Great buy! 🙌

I recently upgraded my macbook pro with SSD and ram. Works faster than ever.

Congrats :) Hope it works well and exceeds your expectations!

I will get mine ending of this yeah, when i payout

I am still using my Macbook air from 2011 lol. It's slow as hell

I'm not missing that lag at all 😂

I hope your investment pays off. I bought an iMac and got nearly eight years out of it! That said, if you're serious about writing on Steemit and editing photos just reframe it as an investment in your craft.

I have never regretted investing in myself and my business. The right technology, memberships to professional associations, conference attendance, and continued education in my field help me be successful. I'd be left behind without these things. Congrats on your purchase!! It will pay you back quickly!

Very true. And congratulations on your new computer! :)

time has come where you need money to earn money @eveuncovered

Amazing my dear Apple it failing random buttons are intermittent. But it keep on chugging good for eight years old. I've added a few bits. Once I have clear my debts a new one is coming my way though. Enjoy the newness 💯🐒

Totallg agree with you. I really need to start saving because i really want to get a mac book as well.

There are 2 pages
Pages