Ghost cities and over population: Chinese phenomenon

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Most of us know about the Chernobyl disaster that left a whole city abandoned and approximately 600,000 highly exposed people.This surely was a sad and unfortunate event that affected hundreds of thousands of people and left the world shocked by the destructive power of a nuclear malfunction.


Image Source

Today I'd like to share share some interesting information not relating to nuclear disaster but the affects of greed in a certain country which we are all familiar with. China definitely has one of the longest and saddest history, to mention a few events like the 2 opium wars involving the British colonization in mid-19th century. (1839 – 1860) Then the Second Sino-Japanese War starting Jul 7, 1937 – Sep 9, 1945 where the Japanese military regime murdered 3,000,000 to over 10,000,000 people, almost 6,000,000 Chinese, Indonesians, Koreans, Filipinos, and Indochinese, among others, including Western prisoners of war.


Image Source

Today we will be talking about the current situation in China where there are entire cities that are uninhabited, not because of some nuclear disaster or unhealthy environmental conditions but simply because people don't live there. It is hard to find any information about exactly how many of these cities there are, just that there many of them.


Image Source


Image Source

Now taking into account that China at the moment tops the list of countries with biggest population, a staggering 1.379 billion strong. A country with a huge population like this, you might want to ask yourself how and why can there be even one "ghost city" it just does not make a lot of sense. This is mainly because in cities like Shanghai and Beijing you'll find major over population. The situation is so extreme that in Beijing there are about 1,000,000 people living in underground bunkers built a long time ago by the government for completely different reasons, these people are referred to as the "Rat Tribe". The conditions of these bunkers are not very good, to put it politely.


Image Source

At some point the bunkers started to fill up as well and people had to find other means of accommodation. Some started to live in underground wells, which we all refer to as the sewers.


Image Source

So the question remains, why are there "ghost cities" in China when the population is more than big enough to fill each and every one of these cities? This is because living in a Chinese city is not cheap at all. If you've ever visited this country you would know that this is a very expensive place to be and these people are trying to find a way to survive not being able to afford an apartment of RMB 6000 - RMB 10 000 ($900 -$1504) for a very small and basic apartment for 1 person.

These ghost cities were built in a real estate race towards financial gain for the rich and powerful in China. Even if you would like to rent one of these apartments in one of these ghost cities, chances are you probably couldn't because you simply would not be able to afford it.

I sincerely hope the government of China will soon find a way to fill these cities with people and release millions of underground communities of their unchosen fate.

Sort:  

You are great blogger

Thank you @dobartim! Appreciate the compliment.

I understand that most of the Chinese audience on Steemit, will despise this post considering that If I were to live in China I would probably never be seen or heard from again. I am sorry for revealing this truth. We are living in the information era and this is what it means, bringing vastly unknown truths to light. Follow, upvote and resteem my posts and I will return the favor.

China's reach extends far beyond its own borders. Hope you use a VPN and other precautions if you start getting too big.

Yes, I am. Thanks for the advice. I am actually quite scared but not only is it worth it but it's exciting. At least if they get me, more people would be a little more aware.

follow and upvoted, very interesting read to say the least

@expatsaloud You are really good with your words keep it up! I knew China had a huge population but never such was the plight! This is the first time I've heard of cities being empty except for their buildings! Great informative post 👍🏻. I would really appreciate it if you drop by and check out my post if you like travel and photography , and the writings of a novice blogger! 😉 I recently visited Ladakh. Awesome place! 🙂

https://steemit.com/travel/@ashfreqk/ladakh-diaries

Thank you so much @ashfreqk. I will follow and upvote your content. I appreciate the support.

There's a YT video of a guy punching out sections of the concrete columns with his bare hands. Apparently, they didn't mix the concrete correctly. He was crazy to be standing in that building if you ask me! They are not safe. Who would want to live in them? I would not.

China is extending their time by spending. Instead of spending on war like the West is doing, they are spending on infrastructure. There's a key difference between the East and the West though. China is accumulating gold. The West is broke. We are only accumulating more debts.

When the music finally stops, and it will soon, China will not care what happens to those ghost cities. It was "money well spent" in their minds. They will still have plenty of gold to maintain their power too. What will the West have after spending trillions on war?

It will have no gold, poor infrastructure, and a lot of enemies.

Interesting opinion. Makes sense. So are you saying that the money spent on war is money not well spent? Can you please the link of the video?

Well, sure. I'd rather build buildings than destroy them with the innocent people still inside. :)

I went through my history on YT for a bit and cannot find it. If I find it though, I'll post the video here.

PD: join me in this world of steemit looking my posts, rare content about this world, maybe you like it, maybe not, anyways, We can grow up toghether follow me and I follow you bro! :D

I will follow and vote. Hope you can do the same for me @sid9999.

Yaa friend definitely!😊

Few weeks ago I see in national geographic movie how many "ghost cities" are in the China and Korean. This is to sad and the government is not democratic, but total dictatorial. I hope that someday it change.

Yes, I hope so too. It is truly sad. Glad to see more people are becoming aware. Thank you @kadri

I had absolutely no idea the situation in China's bigger cities was this bad. A lot of these people seem like working class people who simply cannot afford to live in the city which is a huge atrocity, Hong Kong I believe shares a similar issue where Apartments are so cramped that sometimes the bathroom and kitchen are put together! The Government really needs to intervene in situations where the freemarket undermines the majority of the country.

China is even worse than America though. There's no such thing as the free market there or here. In China those construction loans were approved on purpose to maintain large banking liquidity. It was a scam in other words to extend time without an economic collapse. Centralized planning and more bankster scams will not help. Sadly, not much will now, and things are going to get really ugly soon. Think Great Depression but on a global scale, and now most people live in urban areas without any means or skills to grow their own food.

You are very right, @locikll. This is an atrocity. I am not very aware of the situation in HK but can imagine it would not be very different from the main land. Glad you like the info. please upvote and resteem to help more people become aware of the real world we're living in.

thank for sharing !

My pleasure, glad you enjoyed it.

I cannot imagine if the condition of China is like that. I think the government of China should concern on the population because it will cause all part in a country. Uncontrol Population will cause unstable system' of economy so that Will influence the level of crime. Besides, population also increase inflation and many more. I think the government has suggested solutions for that, but the result must not satisfying. If
Population can be decreased by the goverment, people Will easily get prosperity and welfare.

How insightful. Thanks for support @rooneey. Hope to see more of you.

You are welcome..

In what horrible conditions those people have to live...
I must remember not to complain about my life so often.

So true @fxenakis. Thanks for the support.

Oh the wonders of central planning!

I'd add "bank" to the middle of "central planning." They are the true governments of the world after all. ;-)

Congratulations @expatsaloud!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 8 with $ 101,88

Thank you for letting me know.

Excellent article! It reminds me a little bit of the manufactured new capital of Myanmar (where I gave a talk in February) Nay Pyi Taw. It was a real ghost city.

Thanks for the support @kpalana. Glad you liked it.