Open letter to Fuzzy, Steemit, and BeyondBitcoin

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Fuzzy, tuan himself disagrees with what you said.

I'm shit with people, and that's not really valid here. Sorry to have troubled you.

I should go back to making things.

See ya, steemit.

Sort:  

No. Its simple actually. I have a number of people who have had similar experiences with faddat.

Sadly i have little time to deal with the time sync he is becomming with his constant excuses. I can say with certainty that there are a number of projects that have since done for no money out of pocket most of what would have been involved with what i paid faddat 15k to get done.

Mind you he did not dev MOST of this. Tuan did...and also received nothing from the money i gave faddat. In fact 1.5k of that 15k i gave to tuan toward the end (before faddat decided he was going to end the project because....soooo many excuses).

I caught faddat lying multiple times and im not going to take the time to fuck with proving it.

Faddat. Stop bringing me into this. Because NOT ONLY did you waste my money, lie to me ("they have bad documentation...i read it!" when they didnt have any documentation on the parts you complained about....jeez this list goes on and on)...instead of this JUST BEING OVER, you continue to drag me into your endless list of manipulation and excuses.

One thing is for certain faddat....@good-karma has already told me what i wanted was VERY doable for a dev who is competent. Everyone knows good karma...

If you are in steem...know that good karma of esteem. One of the most capable all around devs ive met in my entire time in crypto, is saying faddat is wrong.

At this point faddat...u not only have wasted shittons of money, produced nothing, paid someone else nothing to do half the job, then quit saying it would cost too much, but you are now the optimum FUD machine who is actually a negative to this project as a whole.

I PAID 15K for you to do a job and BRING VALUE TO STEEM HOLDERS. You have become a VALUE DRAIN. I resent you resenting any of the straight out truth i putting out here.

Ug. This is beginning to sicken me. Getting to the point where ignoring you is best. I apologize HEAVILY to those who will never know what they should expect when faddat takes their money and doesnt finish (again) ...then puts them through what might be even worse as he drags them through the sigh...mud.

If you REALLLLY thought i was a good friend...you would stop posting this bullshit.

No, I wouldn't.

I believe you value the truth as much as I do.

I also believe that currently there's a more than a little incentive for you to reject inconvenient truths, and additionally that the people who made this software made the dangerous choice of ignoring inconvenient truths, as well.

This could even be considered a bug. The world does not need platforms that incite people to ignore the truth.

It's simpler than that.

I really think you give a shit about the truth.

really I do.

There is NO other reason I'd keep at this and the reason is simple: I have faith in you.

Loading...

so if Fuzzy paid and you didnt deliver. why do you quote report for 5000 USD?

Hes an excuse machine

Truth machine.

I was busy being a butthurt idiot.

It was terrible decorum of me to post this.

I don't know what I should have done. It's been shit. I'm sorry.

The best part is, you said sorry, and acknowledged it. You didn't say:

I have a $5,000 report that might contain an apology, but you have to buy it, to find out.

That $5000 report is in my posts. All you'd need to do is read them. Plenty of reproducible scenarios contained in them, not sure how may hold water anymore, but I know that some do.

The report absolutley wouldn't contain an apology. I worked much, much harder than fuzzy knows for the ~$10-15k he paid me. All of these issues could have been avoided if stinc had made the wise decision to implement a grpc or swagger API instead of sticking with the websocket of doom.

"How hard you workes" has LITTLE to do with it.
I paid you for a job done. Not a job tried. Others nearly cry that i paid you 15k when i talk to them because they are already building it.

Loading...

The situation is far, far more complex than that sir. The situation is much closer to:

  1. Steem was even more infant than it is today when I began this work.
  2. Though it did exist, steem-js was far, far less mature than it is today, and @fabien hadn't come onto the scene.
  3. Steemit, inc presented steem's API/RPC as far more mature and reliable than it was.

This is the truth: Software can be like this. It's best if upstream realizes that its value comes from downstream. When upstream does that, it tends to stay mindful not to shit in the river or on downstream devs simply trying to implement their code (which in turn grows the value of their network).

Well they are opensourcing the whole thing with an MIT license now. It's not a websocket of doom from the latest announcement.

Some of that $50,000 worth of work that you claim you only got paid $15,000 for the "total of four attempts to build the thing." might be able to be reused.

In your hand off to Fuzzy, there should be plenty of pre-written code to show for the work you did.

See:

"Developers will drive Steem innovation, and for that they need full access to the codebase. So now they have it!"

https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/steemd-is-now-completely-free-to-use-with-an-mit-license

See:

So surely, I won't be driving any innovations around here. My input is clearly not desired or valued.

Code (faddat)
github.com/faddat/ingestron
(The rest of my output deals with server configuration, which I submitted detailed docs of to steemit.com and it would appear to me that steemit.com is now using those architecture docs. Their core thesis was: To enable web devs to really rock on steemit, steemit needs to have a "normal" web systems API on the back end. kinda like.....
https://github.com/steemit/sbds

Except I'd never mess about with Python. It's a freaking hellshow and is likely to create as many problems as it solves.

Code (Tuan)
https://gitlab.com/baabeetaa/steemdfeed

Oh, @intelliguy-- most of that $50k is in tearing-out-my-hair-bullshit-fees. If I'd known what I was getting into I would have declined the gig and remained friends with Fuzzy. I had no idea that stinc was overstating the reliability of their API/RPC, or that docs were non-existent or wrong. Or that Stinc just... "wouldn't recognize" obvious, repeatable, demostrable problems with its software.

I was happy to work for fuz at "friend discount" prices. He's a really great person, after all.

I think.

And if he is wondering when I'll just be done, well, there are two possiblities:

  • He doesn't realize the truth and his name and my whole experience with steemit.com and him will be tainted by this, but I can't do anything about it.
  • He does realize the truth.

Come back as a new alias without your photo. Like the other 300 altcoin devs who kept releasing the same variations of various coins over the last 3 years.

Just in your commits, use plain language without any emotion tied to it, and no one would know it's you.

Good code, is good code, and it doesn't matter who writes it.

P.S. Check out https://github.com/xeroc/piston-lib

Python Library for Steem

Last commit was 7 days ago with a version bump

The command line tool that is bundled with this package is called piston and helps you

browse,
read,
post,
comment, and
deal with your funds

By the way, on one of your "4 attempts", you might have tried just talking to the steemit website like a basic web browser through HTML and cookies.. the site can be parsed. It's rudementary, but with tweaks it could have worked.

How many people did that with coinmarketcap.com, pulling data, or even blockchain.info who are novice programmers. It's awful, but it could work...

I used piston.

There were issues, but not because of piston.

More recently, in an attempt to complete the same work (no joke like 2 weeks ago) myself and @l0k1 hit troubles caused by steemd with piston. Single-quotes in json, eh....?

Nice, steemd, nice.

Oh, and guess what dude, no fucking way I'm going to use a fake identity to contribute to Stinc's repositories.

Well you know what Fuzzy wants. If it was me, I'd secretly code something up over the coming months, and deliver it anyway..

(Especially as piston gets better, and so does steemd)

If I was this knee deep, and it bugged me. I'd just do it. If he didn't want to take it after it ran... well.. I still gave him a workable product in the end. That's the only thing that would make me feel better.

Each and everyday people are doing amazing things... just look at esteem. The guy is doing all of that... unpaid... luckily he can do it without money.

You'll find yourself with spare time here and there. Make it a mission. Fuzzy will say don't bother. But if you showed him a sexy website that actually works, with the specs that he wanted..

Time could create some healing and this will end nicely.

I have to qualify that it was my error with the incorrect JSON output, by using a python-language-parser.

Also, steemd is a mess of spaghetti and cryptic and complex c++. They may have finally open sourced the code, but i doubt anyone wants to take on the burden of management. It was designed as a monolithic block, as is often the case in hurried code development whipped by corporate bosses.

In fact, I was rather shocked to learn that in the early days after Golos started up, that golos and steem nodes were broadcasting invalid transactions to each other. This is a nightmare of bad programming practises.

They didn't need to open source it. Nobody wants this shit. They need to deliver on the promise of modularising it and turning it into a fabric instead of a monolithic chain.

Your "open letter" is quite incomprehensible.

This communication has been the root cause (in my opinion only) of why this project failed, why faddat got banned from github, and why there is animosity present. Programmers often have a habit of speaking in very simple, logical statements, and don't format it for a non-programmer to fully understand.

This is why every software company has front end departmental managers that speak to the management on behalf of programmers. These IT department managers who manage the project often sit in the boardroom with the customer and do translations between client <---> programmers because it is an art to get everyone on the same page with real expectations of what is possible and not possible.

Here we had a client, talking directly to a coder. The business relationship and the project itself failed as a result. It is not recommended, "especially for large projects" for it to be set up this way.

Best I could do under the circumstances.

Sorry.

Steem and Bitshares are not really decentralized? Aren't even real "blockchains" even? No Shit Sherlock! :D

Pretty sure they're blockchains. But I've had my doubts a few times.

Decentralized-- well there's a bunch of ways of defining that.

Trouble is they don't even work as described, and since they're so screwed up, when you ask if x y or z works, the orgs behind them actually think it's better to lie.

They are replicated databases among a set of trusted nodes (validators). Have nothing to do with Satoshi's invention. Could have been around since the 1970s really.

Have nothing to do with Satoshi's invention. Could have been around since the 1970s really.

Wrong.

previous    00aaa926542a55e9ca9b9e678a93e6c6e4bf9c85
timestamp   2017-04-18T21:57:27
witness     gtg
transaction_merkle_root 382b5642e0c19f8558012e955eb81815d3322caf

https://steemdb.com/block/11184423

I know you may think it's obvious, but you didn't state why pfunk.

Is it because each block is signed by a particular witness unlike Bitcoin?

Someone with enough knowledge to make a claim that something is or isn't a blockchain would take the hint.

The point I'm making is the block I linked, that included his comment saying that Steem could have been around in the 1970s, contains a reference block_id which includes a hash of the previous block.

The first 4 bytes of the block_id is the hexadecimally encoded block number and the following data is a truncated hash of the block.

Blockchains are created and verified by "chaining" together a series of data blocks that include cryptographic hashes to the previous block. The "chains" between old blocks and new are mathematically strong crypto hashes. Any attempt for a single party in a decentralized ledger to change transaction data in an old block will fail because it breaks verification of the chain.

that's also what git does, and git is not a blockchain. The Merkle Tree was patented in 1979.

You're missing the point. Read the other comment. Or just quit trolling if you know better.

I did. You're (almost) perfectly describing Merkle Trees.

Could you please elaborate on what are the steemd issues you're having? What were you trying to achieve with this project?

Posts. Go through the posts. I do not have time to waste more of my life on this shit. It's exactly why I have a priced report cost.

If you want, you can buy the report, too. Doing it right would take about ten days and be more than a hundred pages thick of:

  • declaration of N spec / protocol then violating it
  • RPC/api errors
  • questionable economic policy
  • things that well, it looks exacttly like they were created FOR currency manipulation

....and overall, this site being just a new variation on the theme of selling your users, despite it giving some more to them.

....and every single thing that would be in it, would have already been reported by me here on steemit.

Oh realllllly faddat???? How interesting! You seem to never stop posting shit about it!

Maybe you just want people to upvote you so you can earn money for making excuses.

No, that is absolutley not why. There are much less painful ways to earn money fuz.