AIDAprima - poema del mar aquarium - Gran Canaria

in #life6 years ago (edited)

We arrived today at Gran Canaria. Our plans were to visit the Palmitos Park but as the weather looked like it is going to rain and we were yesterday in the Rancho Texas Lanzarote we decided to change plans.

The Rancho Texas was fun by the way -an animal park with a Delphine show and the possibility to swim with seals. Especially swimming with seals seems to be fun even though we just watched (too cold and my small one can't swim yet). As it is a rather small park - half a day is just fine for it.

We heard about the new poema del mar aquarium created on Gran Canaria which is connected to the famous Loro Parque on Tenerife which we won't be able to see as we are flying back from Tenerife quite early. As we were able to get there by feet (5 minute walk from the ship) it was the perfect trip and the decision was easily made.

IMG_0473.jpg

Once in the aquarium you very quickly get the impression that this is going to be an awesome experience. The whole experience is a walk with lots of stops you can make. You start on the upper level above the bigger water basins and than ending up below! them in glas tubes - so basically you walk through the fishes.

I don't want to post fishes over fishes as I think the pictures don't give you the right expression - you have to be live there to get the magic. But I wanted to share a view pictures which are my highlights.

For having a lunch break they have restaurant in the lower basement with perfect view into the water basins - really great ambience, good food to decent prices.
IMG_0461.jpg

Than they had a gigantic reef with very colorful corals - the picture doesn't get the greatness and colors unfortunately.

At the end they have this giant basin with sharks and bigger fish (see also next picture). Really amazing. And you can see quite in the center that you can walk into this water basin and be right in the middle of the action without getting wet!
IMG_0463.jpg

One hell of a shark:
IMG_0459.jpg
IMG_0465.jpg

And at the end I saw this turtle with one missing leg - I don't know if it has something to do with the company it is sharing his basin (tiger sharks) - I hope not. I like to think that it has been saved and bought here for protection purposes.
IMG_0457.jpg

All in all it was absolutely a great experience which is highly recommended. It connects you with the underwater world and gives you an interesting view on the underwater world. You can easily spend half a day here as time flies by.

Sort:  

Amazing aquarium..
Thanks for sharing this sweet photos..
I hope to visit it in the near future..
Enjoy your trip..
Have a great weekend..

really its beautifull aquarium @lordoftruth

A very beautiful place to visit, I really want to go there sometime
Enjoy your holiday @famunger :)

That really amazing place.
Looks like science fiction movies
Enjoy the amazing trip
Have fun and keep posting

thanks for shareing your beautifull traveling blog & amazing piture dear really like it so much @famunger

i impressed to read your lifestyle and your all thing in your post is interesting...

I love sharks😊😊😊😊

Aquarium, which is very fascinating ,, thanks for sharing

Amazing post, I like your post

Those sharks looks so scary but so beautiful in the same time.

I hooe you enjoyed the trip!

Nice! I give you a Upvote!

Never been eaten in a restaurant with an aquarium surrounded. Interesting feeling. I read there was somewhere they build an aquarium hotel too. Kids must love it.

Yes - my son loved it. Aquarium hotel? That must be fun also - need to google that!

Somewhere in Maldives, couldn't remember, as I personally not really a luxurious traveller lol.

Very cool aquarium! I liked the turtle)

i was never in such big Waterworld. This Tons of Water, the Glas is very strong, I think, maybe several layers it have. Have a great journey @famunger.

Thank you for stopping by @travelwithus
You should visit such an underwater world some time. It really connected me with nature again.
Glas really must be very strong - I can't imagine how much weight it has to hold back - otherwise you would get an interesting shower ;-)