You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homestead Lessons: The Cost of Raising Animals

in #life6 years ago

Good write up, friend, really! We have only had to cull some hatchlings of the bobwhites thus far, but we hope to do some harvesting here in the coming weeks. This will be our first.

I have had only a couple deaths on the homestead, one has shook me to the point where I am still recovering a year later.

You’re absolutely right, it’s all a learning experience and we must choose to learn and be thankful from it.

Sort:  

Farmstead , you're right about being grateful for the learning experience. It changes our expectations and leaves us less prone to disappointment.

Thank you so much! Good luck on your first harvest. I found it best to just get in and take care of business, and if your emotions get to you, take a break, you are homesteading now, so you have alot more time than you used to. ;)
Thats so cool you have Bobwhites! I have coturnix myself (check out my quail articles if you havent yet! wink wink lol ) I was thinking of raising them as well, but I think I may go for Jumbo Browns or A&M due ot their growth rate. How long does it take to get full size and how many do you have? I would love to read up on them if you have some articles!