Pretty random short story because I'm drunk, wide awake, and feel like sharing.

in #life8 years ago

I've been reading every ones posts about themselves. Introductory posts and ones about why they are a certain way. I decided I like them. You are all people from all over this planet. All come from very different walks of life, and as many experiences and feelings as we share, we also do not.

The little story I'm about to share with you happened when I was 20 years old. I had decided to drop out of Northern Illinois University, take one or two classes at a time at Elgin Community College, find a dead end job and sell weed for a while. I figured I was young, if there was ever a 'free' chance to stuff my life into a wall, I would have to take that chance now. I pretty much ran wild for the next three years. As long as what I was doing was not morally wrong, who could tell me what to do with my life?

This particular day was not all that spectacular in the grand scheme of things. I could also write about any one of my top 10 favorite/horrible police encounters. Those would make for funnier and better reading. For whatever reason though, today I spent a good portion day dreaming about this time a decade ago. Summer of 2006.

Right around this time ten years ago my friend Steve and I drove to Des Plaines to take care of something. We were both underage and also wanted to find someone to buy us a case of beer at some point. After taking care of business we drove around a bit to a few spots I used to hang out at. I did most of my growing up in Des Plaines, so when I came back I would always make time to run around and visit some of the spots that were important to me.

I would often say the spot we were at was important for the second or third most life changing thing that happened to me there. Kind of silly, but something about saving the best of the best for myself kept me from explaining why we were really in a particular part of town, on a certain road, or buying expired juice from a Korean gift shop.

Steve and I drove past a park I liked and noticed four older girls hanging out. He challenged me to try to chat them up a little. I said let's do one better and try to get them to buy us beer. He said it wouldn't work but that it could be fun. I parked and rolled up a joint.

We walked over, introduced ourselves and asked if they wanted to smoke with us. Two of them did, so we sat down with them. Talked about where we went to school and since they graduated from my high school four years before me we laughed and swapped stories about a couple teachers. When the time came, I asked if they would mind buying us beer. They said it would not be a problem. While we followed them to Jewel Steve told me he was surprised that I pulled it off. In the parking lot we gave them a 20 and told them to get a 30 case of Icehouse.

When we saw them walking back with the beer Steve had one more challenge for me. He bet that I would not ask the cute one for a phone number. Didn't have to get one, just to ask. I said sure no problem, worst case scenario it'll be something to laugh at on the drive back to West Chicago.

I hopped out and popped the trunk. I don't remember what I said, but it came out pretty smooth. She gave me a smile and I could see she thought about it for a moment. Like, "look at this little kid go for it!" In that moment I went from not caring to kind of hoping she would. I remember her smile and the way she lightly turned her head to one side. She went from being 'the cute one' to just drop dead gorgeous. Everything about that moment is so fresh in my mind. It literally slowed down. Her hair seemed to sway in slow motion in the breeze. The moment between her smiling because of me asking for her number and the inevitable rejection I was about to receive was so pure.

It really had me wondering why our paths crossed the way they did. On a different day, maybe I wouldn't be wearing beat up ripped jeans, maybe I'd also have a nice shirt on. It could have been on a day that I didn't smoke a boatload of weed. We could have bumped into each other at a store. Maybe I flash her a smile and get that beautiful one back. Surely I wouldn't let her just walk away without trying to strike up a conversation.

I know it was infatuation or lust or whatever you want to call it. Maybe we end up together and after 3 months we are both miserable. I spent a half hour bullshitting with her at a park while smoking a joint. She got me with one smile. I don't know her at all. That's what the reasonable part of my brain was trying to sputter out. The romantic in me kept saying, 'No way fool, she is perfect. No way it would end in anything but happily ever after."

Anyway the moment with all that crammed into it came and went. The slomo was over and in normal speed she ended up saying something like not today but she would if we ever ran into each other again. Way to let me down nicely. (I mean, I already told you she was perfect.) We said our thank yous and good byes and went our separate ways.

Driving away, Steve said he had to give me props and that he didn't think I had it in me. If my memory serves me well, that was the only time I asked for a phone number and did not get it. At the same time, it is the most vivid memory I have of asking a girl for her digits. I walked a little bit taller that weekend even though I got turned down. Steve kept telling everyone how I got a couple of cute older chicks to buy us beer and then was super smooth asking the most beautiful one for her number. He said it looked like she wanted to give it to me, and maybe would have if her friends weren't there.

I never explained to anyone what went on in my head all because I asked for a number. I always played it off as something funny. It has always been one of the things Steve and I laugh at every couple of years when we catch up. Every once in a while I remember that smile and the slow motion moment. It makes me smile every time. Perhaps that's why our paths crossed. We were never supposed to spend anymore time together. She just had to leave me with a memory that would brighten up a moment countless times for the rest of my life.

Now that I feel like I overshared and like a total pansy, I will just hit post. Not re-reading and taking parts out. You get what I wrote, no edit.

Sort:  

Upvoted you

Thanks for reading!

I really like this post, probably because I'm a female... but you wrote it so clearly, I felt like I was there. Great perspective on how things are meant to be. How it was only for a moment but one that would bring a smile to your face even years later. Pretty sweet :)