Lessons learnt so far from the Teaching Profession

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I started teaching as a profession two years ago. I've never planned to be a teacher, it was in university that I decided I was going to be a researcher and part of the job description is to teach. Also, I love making people understand things although I don't like to talk and I don't bother to convince people that have made up their minds about an issue but those that ask me about something, I make sure they understand completely. I love seeking answer to the question "why things happen the way they do". I've worked with varying classes oo people, children, teenagers, and adults and I've observed and learnt many things. But there are three important lessons I've learnt so far from this prestigious profession.
IMG_20180510_222045.jpg

  1. You don't have to be intelligent to teach
    When many people are called upon to teach or they hear about the teaching profession, they ultimately assume it's for the smart ones and avoid it completely but it's not. Almost anyone can be a teacher as long as the passion to impart knowledge is present. There's no perfect teacher anywhere, every teacher is always looking to improve and grow in all ways possible. However, a certain level of knowledge is required in any field you've chosen. You have to be a good command of whatever you're teaching.

  2. It's not about you but about the students
    Many times, I've been worried about how good a class was or whether I enjoyed the class or not but I've learnt that it's not about me but about the students. This means the priority is the well being of your students, their understanding and not necessarily you having fun. Teachers are sacrificial, they sacrifice lots of things, time, sometimes money, energy and others. It's more than a 9-5 job, it's not just a role you play during working hours, it's much more than that, we are teachers 24/7. We care more about the happiness and success of our students than our comfort.

  3. It's not about academics
    Teaching basically to some people is helping students pass an examination. But personally, I've tried to exceed that level and try to be more than just a tutor. I try to incorporate life lessons, motivational talks, personal experiences and many more into my teaching because I am not interested in only the academic performance of my students but their overall development. I tell them things that will help their physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual development. One thing I try very much to tackle is their attitude because attitude is everything.

Teaching is fun, and it's interesting. Greatest part of it is that you get to influence the lives of so many young people.

Sort:  

Honestly I think teachinh is the noblest profession, with out teachers so many other professions vanish no teachers = no doctors

I love his movies. Very creative, funny, handsome and lovely.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fearless97 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.