You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's with all the new DownVote Bots?

in #life6 years ago

I don't expect large downvotes happening anytime soon, because that means their SP are not being used to profit. Furthermore, the $ negated simply gets back to the reward pool.

IMO this is either plain trolling or some kind of protest we just haven't figured out yet.


By the way:

But downvotes for disagreeing with content

That's not what the tooltip says.

Disagreement on rewards

There is a lot of difference.

Sort:  

Yea disagree, as media scholar Marshall McLuhan asserted: "The Medium is the Message" I think all value is subjective and disagreeing over rewards is due to the content of the message--unless you think there is some maximum vote value? Ultimately I suspect if we really get into it, unless there is a theoretical maximum payout and you have a binary analysis of posts that meet that or not and only downvote if the post objectively gets past that threshold, I suspect unless that if how people are allocating downvotes then disagreement over rewards can be collapsed into a sub category over down voting over content.

For me, I think it may be better if the only downvotes were for spam/posts non in conformity with clearly stated guidelines posted before the post to provide some aspect of due process notice. And I think in that case for this system to be uniformly enforced so these rules are most likely to adjust and regulate expression here if we think we need certain rules to control and manage discussions.

It will be interesting to find out why someone would do this. I understand many may disagree with my perspective of ideal downvote culture which would be minimal to non existent outside of spam/rule violations.

Hope the weekend goes well for you. If you ever have important stuff you want me to resteem/upvote to help you find your audience feel free to message me "TheFatKat" on discord.

But downvotes for disagreeing with content

This means steemit is suggesting you should downvote everything you disagree with, regardless of it being good, legit content or not. I.e. my comment above.

Disagreement on rewards

This means you don't think the person should get the reward. Even if you disagree with an author's post by a matter of opinion, that doesn't mean you disagree they should get that post's rewards.

There is a lot of difference. You should downvote spam because spam shouldn't get rewarded (1st sentence), but you shouldn't downvote a legit opinion merely because yours is different (2nd sentence).

I never disagreed with what you're trying to say, but how you've written it, as some people may end up misinterpreting you, which would be awful.


Every upvote is appreciated, no matter how small or big. If you see anything you like on my channel or maybe on @gamegiveaways, please do upvote it. Thank you.