After losing another friend (requiem for friendship)

in #life6 years ago

14f60ee5578233eb7e003249af965004.jpg
I was always fond of Meysam. When Shole told me about their engagement, I was dancing in the streets. I couldn’t imagine anyone better than Meysam being my friend’s husband. Meysam was a logical good-natured boy, and he was madly in love with Shole.

I remember that Shole was talking about her pervert professor, we were in a café. I noticed that he wasn’t really listening to whatever she was talking about. He nodded, smiled and had a giant smile on his round face while she was telling that pervert touched her leg in the lab. That wasn’t a normal reaction for a boy (at least boys around me might curse as the best-case scenario). He was drawn in Shole’s love.

The strongest reason that made me stay in his team was that I had been through what he was. He got stuck in friend zone for a long time and suffered from unbearable unrequited love. Until Shole accepted to go out with him. I knew he will be hurting in future. His eyes sparkled when he looked at her. Once he missed his mobile phone when he went to the movie theater with her. Next time it happened again, his wallet. He was a successful manager by the age of 25 and love turned him into a clumsy teen. In a cold winter, he drove 400 kilometers to make sure Shole wasn’t mad at him. (They weren’t living in the same city).

Just weeks after that he called me and asked what he should do. Shole answered his phone cold and distant. Like most men, Meysam knew something is wrong, but what? That was the blank space in every man’s mind.

I told him at once:” at the moment you ask me to intervene, the relationship is doomed.” he answered me like a baby boy:
- I just want to know she is not sick, I’m worried.

So I called Shole. Yes, something was Wrong and Meysam couldn’t fix it, even if he did his best. He couldn’t turn into someone else and that was what she wanted: another dude. Well, how can you convince your childhood friend not to act like a bitch? I never tried to change her, she had a particular personality that was why he and I both liked about her. However, I really wanted Meysam to be her husband, and somehow my brother-in-law.

Months after that, Shole called and told me about how she broke up with him on the phone, brief and to the point. I asked her about his reaction:” cried, like a baby.”

So I could never see Meysam, we will never finish our friendly conversation about our dumb students and he will never meet my suitors in person to confirm them (that was what he promised me).

I could never choose him over Shole, so another marvelous friend is omitted from my life by the hand of Conditions.
Shole called me last week. She might come back to Esfahan in a week with his new boyfriend, she tends to show him the city (like what we did with Meysam). I told her I cannot, it was just too soon (last week the broke up).
-Move on Fereshte, there are plenty of fish in the sea.
-But I’m sick of losing good friends, they keep immigrating, getting married and breaking up and I lose their company while I don’t want to.

One-day I will get back all of my lost friendships in a rainy day. You might ask why a rainy day. I can tell you for sure, they all Love rainy days as I do. They all love magic, animation movies, pizza and Pink Floyd and we can talk about these subjects for years.
I still remember that eccentric girl who had a semicolon tattoo on her wrist. she claimed that she can feel that her lover is in the town or not (not by calling, when he left the town, somehow she realized it). However, her boyfriend was a famous showman with three kids, but I really missed her when she ran away from the town (the boyfriend’s wife figured out about her).