The Importance of Donating Blood

in #life6 years ago

There isn't exactly a reason why you should be a blood donor. Some might do it because they were asked by a friend to do so. Some may have a family member in need or a beloved friend. And others do it because they believe it's the right thing to do.

But whichever your reason is, what matters the most is that you are helping to save someone's life.

From women with pregnancy problems, malnourished children, people who have experienced traumatic accidents or are about to undergo a necessary surgery; several people around the globe are in need of blood transfusions every day to save their lives.


Today I went to my town's blood center called "Hemocentro Maldonado" to donate blood for my grandmother. She had a blood transfusion a couple of days ago, and in Uruguay, hospitals always ask the patient's relatives to give blood to the center to replenish the amount of blood used on their loved one.

It was my first time doing it, and the truth is, it felt extremely good afterward. Not physically, since I felt a bit dizzy once the needle was taken off of my arm, but it felt morally great.

Fifteen minutes later and the whole thing was over, so I headed over to the center's cafeteria where they gave me some sugary snacks so I could regain my composure before leaving. They also provided me there a lot of information on my do's and don'ts for the next 24 hours.


I think that we as humans tend to erase from our minds the fact that, someday, it might be us the ones that will be in need so, why not helping others while we still can, right? After all, life is the most significant gift we can give.

See you in three months, blood center! I'll be definitely coming back.


Photos taken by me with my iPhone SE

Sort:  

what a kind gesture you got there, i can fewl that you really love your grandma . and yes you're right that the best thing in this world is to give hope for another person's life 👍👏❤️❤️❤️

Very nice @ffodie . Donating blood not only good for your health but it is a noble cause by doing this you are saving humanity . If one person got life you think the job done . Upvote and followed

Nice one, Good deed. Kudos 👍👍👍👍

Kudos for the generous life-giving donation! You are an example for others to follow.

Thank you for the nice gesture. Years ago, my mother needed blood donors and blood banks here in my country also requires either replacement or you pay them anhuge amount. It is true, blood is very hard to get. In my case, doctors said I was under weight so I couldn't donate. Good thing I had friends who were willing to.

God bless you and I hope your grandmother gets well soon.

Good this you did there! Hope many Will follow, there is always need for blood!

Super that you could help :)

I've kind of switched over to alternating blood donations and the lengthier plasma donations (it feels kind of strange... having the blood pumped BACK IN once it's been filtered XD ).

Here's a pic I took last time, to traumatize a few friends into doing it XD

IMG-20170315-WA0000.jpeg

I hoper everyone who's wondering if it's a good idea take the leap and donate !

Here in France we often receive messages saying the blood banks are low and they urgently need more.

Plus, most places give snacks and food to get your energy up afterwards ;)

@ffodie, Your post was Resteemed by @OCD!
Congratulations!

@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

Sharing your blood is giving a life. Such a kind act, you must be blessed more!...

Very nice photos: congratulation! :-D