How He Proposed To His Fianceé

in #life6 years ago (edited)

496642_1280x720-620x349.jpg

I'd wondered about the most likely way I was going to ask my woman to marry me: Via WhatsApp? in a chat message?

Well, I did propose. And here's how.

I bought the ring on the 5th of July. I also ordered some necklaces and bracelets. When the items arrived, I gave her the rest and hid the ring. On that same day, I gisted three of her closest friends and even showed them pictures of the ring. They all were giving me ideas on how, where and when to propose. All three of them wanted the paparazzi kind. Her closest even suggested I came over to her department where she worked and do my business. I dreaded that suggestion the most. The last time I counted, there were 64 Doctors in the department where she worked. I told her friend "I'd just die".

I've always known what I wanted and how I wanted it done. I wanted something private, intimate, and original. But still, I kept seeking for opinions from her friends and mine.

Ultimately, I decided what I wanted. I decided to wait until her birthday, but her birthday fell on a Monday (today).

Last week Friday, I made contact with the bakery. I told Boo I wanted to celebrate her birthday for her. She was elated.

On Saturday morning, I called Boo and asked if she could spend the night over at my place. She said she could. I told her to come with the special gown I bought for her some months back.

Next, I called my elder brother and told him about my plans. We talked for a long time. He asked me if it was what I wanted. Told him I was sure. He repeated the question thrice, and i reassured him it was what I indeed wanted. He asked if I'd prayed about it. Told him I had. He said then i had his blessings. Told me it was the right step and he was in support.

Next, I called her only brother. She's the first child. I've known they all have incredible bonds amongst themselves. It's something I so much like about them. I am 5 years older than the guy, but I did give him his respect. And he is one very respectful guy. He was pleasantly surprised that I told him. He thanked me and wished us well. Lol.

Next, i called the catering services to inquire about the cake. They told me it would be ready at the exact time I chose.

Next, I stepped out of the house to a supermarket. I bought several dozens of refreshment, then I went over to BFF's house. His wife kept trying to convince me to do an elaborate proposal. I assured her it would be an elaborate one, but that the part where they wanted to see, they wouldn't see. Lol.

I called the official photographer and arranged for time slot for Sunday.

BFF and I left for the lounge. We had cow leg pepper soup and some soft drinks. He asked if I was nervous. I told him I was. He asked if I've been tempted by a few booty recently. Lol. I told him I'd been. Lol. But i didn't fall? He added. I told him I'd passed that stage. Lol.
He said I could go ahead with my proposal. Lol. That I was indeed ready. We watched the Liverpool match before we left the lounge.

The curfew time was approaching. I called Boo. She told me she'd be on her way soon. I called some of her friends and told them I would be hosting them the next day (yesterday). I told them to come hungry. I called some of my friends too. Same message. Come hungry.

I got back home at about 5:30pm. I picked up the ring from where I'd hidden it all the while. I cleaned it like I did every morning. I even admired it. I kept it by the bedside then went outside to wait.

She drove in a few minutes before 6pm. I was by the gate, waiting for her. We'd not seen since the day we all ran for our lives. I'd since had a haircut, exactly what she liked.

We hugged outside. I planted a kiss on her lips too. Then I ushered her in.

The room smelt of Peach and Jasmine when she walked in. She threw her bag on the cushion and jumped on me. I caught her midair. My girl loves to play. And i absolutely love that about her.

I had my phone connected to the home theater system before she came in. I'd selected three playlist for the night.

I dropped her down and pressed the play button.

Simi.
Joromi.

This song was a late, late addition. I only added it on Saturday morning.

I dragged her up and started dancing to Simi's melodious tune. My babe has no idea I can dance. I can be extremely shy about dancing and i miss steps.

But it was different this time. And you could see her reaction. I danced around her. Holding her waste. Releasing it. Turning around her. I took her hand. I made the right steps. Boo was just too stunned to respond well. But she was dancing. She noticed i was smiling all the while. So she began to ask, "boo, what's wrong? Where did you learn how to dance? You can dance? What's going on nau"?

I beat her hands down. The song ended.
"Play it again" she demanded. Now, it was a challenge.

Then we danced. Seductive. Sensual. We danced. She used the "come and get me" moves which was extremely beautiful. We danced around the house, from the sitting room to the bedroom abd back to the sitting room. The sounds from the home theater followed us everywhere.

The song ended and i told her I had another song I wanted to sing for her. I lifted her up and dropped her on the cushion.

Hot Chocolate.
You Sexy Thing.

This song is a 1975 classic. It's a song that would outlive everyone. The song would never ever grow old.

The song began. And i started to sing, using one of the remotes as a microphone.

"...I believe in miracles...where're you from? You sexy thing! I believe in miracles, since you came along, you sexy thing. Where did you come from, baby? How did you know...I needed you so badly...?"

I knew the song, word for word. And my babe watched me sing. She was wooooowed!

After the two songs, we both left for the kitchen together, arm in arm. I had one song left.

We fixed dinner. I had previously made rice. We made it hot then ate.

After eating, i picked my phone to call mum. She saw who I was calling. I told her I needed to go out and speak to mum.
She looked at me suspiciously. "Since when do you need privacy when talking with mum?".

I didn't answer. I went outside the gate. Mum and I spoke for along time, then I finally told her I was proposing.
Mum has never met Boo, but they have spoken EVERYDAY since the start of this year. Mum sees her as a confidant. A friend. A daughter. I get jealous when they speak. I see the messages between them. Mum used to know her as a friend to my dad. She happened to be one of the last persons who spoke to my dad before he died.
The mother-daughter relationship between both of them was one of the keyest factors. Ultimately, it was my happiness that mattered. And that was what my mum said.
She said, "Right before you took your first steps, I'd always prayed for a good wife for each of you. And i am certain any woman you bring home to me would be God's answered prayers".

I thanked mum, begged her not to let the cat out of the bag yet. Mum promised she would stay loyal to me...for now.

I got back inside and boo was looking at me. I took another excuse of emptying the trash can then ran out again, still with my phone.

This time, I called her immediate younger sister and told her of my intensions. She screamed and continued to scream until I could here all of her sisters shouting. Lol. I told them to keep it a secret until I told them otherwise.

I got back into the house and Boo was in the bathroom.
She was wearing one of my sweaters and my three quarter when she stepped into the sitting room. Both were oversize but Boo was beautiful still.

She brought the blanket and we cuddled and folded ourselves into a ball on our favorite two setter settee. We watched Dynamo Live in 02 Arena on Discovery Family.

Then mum called. They both spoke for 11 minutes and 23 seconds. And true to her word, mum remained loyal. Lol.

I played the last song on the playlist.

Ed Sheeran

Hearts Don't Break Around here.

The song was on repeat until we both started singing along. Then we kissed long and compassionately.

We've dated a few months but we'd chosen to remain celibate until we marry...if we marry.

It was 9:45pm when we headed to the bedroom. I wanted to sleep. But that's not Boo. She always always had energy for play. She wants to sit on your head. She wants to tie your hand. She wants to cuddle. She wants to talk. She would puppy cry if you denied her any of this. I sha let her.

A few minutes to 11pm, she slept up, all cuddled up inside of me. Then my heart started to beat. I was restless. Nervous. Jumpy. But eventually, I slept too.

I was up by 2am, looking at her. I kissed her forehead. She didn't respond. I looked at the ring again. It shone brightly. Then i slept.

A few minutes to 5am, i woke up and put on the light. I was going to use the rest room.
She stired up, mumbled some words, and pleaded i put off the light.

It was time. I was fidgeting!

"Boo boo, wake up. I need to talk to you".

Puppy cry" Boo please I want to sleep"

"Boo I'm serious. We need to talk. I want to tell you something that might affect both of us for the rest of our lives".

"Boo its a lie. You just want to punish me for last night".

Then I brought the ring to her face.

Lol. At that moment I started to wonder if I'd not just done something wicked.

She was so surprised. She was looking at the ring. And at me. "I wasn't expecting this".

She immediately teared up! "Will you marry me?" I asked.

"Wait wait wait. Let me go down on my knees".

She was looking at me. Crying. Smiling. Picking her hairs from her face.
"Before you say yes or anything, I want you to know I'd love you like Jesus loved the church. I'll protect you. I'll provide for you. I'll support you. You will be the only one. I will never seek a divorce from you. I'll never push you to the point where you'll seek one. If you say yes".

"It's so beautiful. You're so beautiful. This is sweet". Boo kept crying.

"You're just saying its so beautiful and you haven't even said yes". Lol

She jumped on me screaming yes! Yes! Yes!

Then she started to recap events from last night. Then we talked about the future. We talked about when we wanted to get married. We talked about ourselves. We kissed.
And we remained celibate.

By afternoon, i picked up the cake. She went back home to screams from her siblings and mum. Then we went to the studio together.

Our friends came. We ate. Her friends did the customary shouts and dance. We took photos. She refused to cut the cake. She insisted it had to be today, Monday, on her birthday.

She makes me extremely happy. I am at peace with this girl.

Years to come, she'd tell the kids this tales. Hopefully.