You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick and Easy Cannabis Chocolate Bar Recipe

in #life5 years ago

I left Cali a few years "to go off and see the world" So far that has been most of the countries in SE Asia. At the moment I grit my teeth for RA in all countries lol.

Interestingly, you can get all the narcotics and similar at pharmacies here. They will not give them to healthy people but I can talk to the head pharmacist and show my pain and joints and they bring it on. No doctor and VERY cheap.

I'm usually pretty good without much meds, but I'm in a huge flare for the last month. I got some muscle relaxers, narcotics, and steroids for about $5 that will last months. I'm a weakling on that stuff and cannot take it more than once a week. I break pills and take small amounts but they still make me crazy and confused. Then I'm hungover for a day or two.

I quit all the biologics and disease modifiers a few years ago. Too many close calls with death for my liking. I used to take all kinds of pills and shots. Now I just watch my joints deform and wish I had some weed. Sativa really worked for me in very small amounts and the indica to knock me out.

CBD is legal here but way out of my price range. I tried in San Diego - also too expensive - but it really works. I could rub it on nodules and they would shrink!

I should be in Sri Lanka. Apparently they use it heavily there for many conditions and in many preparations. Goals!

Sort:  

That is such an amazing thing, you traveling around the world. I hope the sheer wonder and beauty can offset any troubles and pain you have to face with RA.

I was supposed to visit SE Asia and totally chickened out. Flash forward a decade, and it's less likely i'll get there in the next 20 years.

I'm sorry about the RA flares. I understand that biologics come with risks, but they also can have a huge therapeutic response. It is a very interesting debate regarding using the most potent medications for the treatment of chronic illnesses. Do their benefits really outweigh the risks and side effects? Do they improve quality of life so much the negative impact is considered acceptable? And then there is family who can drive the decision rather than the member suffering from the disease.

I have family that is also out for a day when they take medications like those for pain treatment. My heart truly goes out to you.

Wishing you the best on your travels!!!
@massmedicinals

Do their benefits really outweigh the risks and side effects?

Do they improve quality of life so much the negative impact is considered acceptable?

Those are constant issues in my ra and chronic pain groups. I took all kinds of stuff for 20 years and was always sick, in the er, in the icu, in the rehab, had infections, nearly dead, intravenous drips, - on and on. So I got off and now have all the other issues. But this is better for me.

supposed to visit SE Asia and totally chickened out

What??? life is so great here. 1000000 times better than the us for me.

Yes it's strange how some of us react. This is why I cannot leave fb. My groups have 1000's of active people that will chime in about any drug or symptom. I need the support and help.

I'm debating taking 2.5 mg of prednisone tonight and I will get good sleep and be a freak for a couple of days. I need to clean and carry my laptop somewhere, so I might. I cannot do either of those things at the moment with weakness. I have online friends who take 20mg 2X a day or more.

Those are constant issues in my ra and chronic pain groups. I took all kinds of stuff for 20 years and was always sick, in the er, in the icu, in the rehab, had infections, nearly dead, intravenous drips, - on and on. So I got off and now have all the other issues. But this is better for me.

This is really interesting. I feel like biologics are something that a lot of people swear by for relief of their symptoms. But clearly that isn't the case with everyone. I'm happy to hear you have found a balance.

What??? life is so great here. 1000000 times better than the us for me.

Yes... I looking back, I see this as one of the biggest mistakes in my life.

Yes it's strange how some of us react. This is why I cannot leave fb. My groups have 1000's of active people that will chime in about any drug or symptom. I need the support and help.

I was still able to leave FB. There are other ways to connect to life minded people. But if you enjoy the groups on FB I think that is great!

I'm debating taking 2.5 mg of prednisone tonight and I will get good sleep and be a freak for a couple of days. I need to clean and carry my laptop somewhere, so I might. I cannot do either of those things at the moment with weakness. I have online friends who take 20mg 2X a day or more.

This is so interesting. Most people I know who get prednisone, feel amazing after taking a dose. Either symptoms end, or they get energy and feel more able and active. Like a performance enhancing drug. Though the effects are short lived.

Hey BTW, thanks for teaching me about "quoting" using basic html coding!!!

You are welcome. This is such a learning curve here! I get roid rage on prednisone. The first time I did not know and after two weeks on a high dose I was flat out insane.

Biologics can work great for years and then kill you in 24 hours. I have been in groups where the member got sick and the next day a family member came in told us the person was dead. I came close a number of times in my last years on them.

SE Asia is still here - you should make the leap. I am really glad I did.

Many of the most successful medications can have serious mood alterations. We had to monitor our patients for suicidal ideation. And some others cause irreversible movement disorders (like parkinson's). But that's what people are willing to accept when there are no other options for their illness.

You will be happy to know that, SE Asia has been re-added to my bucket list!