I almost died in a bike accident.

in #life6 years ago

Yesterday was bad day



IMG_6495.png


After spending the day cleaning the house and moving furnitures from side to side I wanted to relax a bit and spend what was left of the sun riding my bike. I managed to finish what I was doing by 15:00 hs which was pretty good, I could take a shower and ride to my girlfriends house in the best hour, sunset. I packed my stuff in my backpack and off course I wasted a lot of time looking for my helmet as it always happens.
I love this road, I think I rode it in almost any kind of bike, at every time of the day, and night, and it's been always lovely. It's a 10 km road that goes all by the coast to Punta del Este, with 73F and the sun going dow it seems like nothing could go wrong.


FullSizeRender 2.jpg


I ride a track bike, or as many of you may know them by now a fixed gear bike, it means the transmission is fixed to the wheel, so as the wheel is moving your legas keeps moving, you can't stop pedaling, unless you lock your legs, and then you are able to track with this technic so to speak. My bike is breakless, this has led me to a lot of discussions and questions about why I don't have breaks in my bike. And the answer Is simple, my legs are my breaks, my legs are my gears, I don't need 28 speeds, to shift up or down, I can push harder when is needed, like I can break when is needed too. Riding breakless means you have to focus, you have to be sure about every move, you have to anticipate to traffic, and you really should know how to lock your legs and break.


IMG_6490.JPG


I was going like 30 km, which is a cruise speed with the crankset relation I use, I slightly lean to my left to enter a wide open turn, when suddenly my front wheel explode, it get flat in a second, it caused to loose grip and added to some thin sand my front wheel slides sideways, when I tried to correct the move I oversteer and the front wheel tucked horizontal while I flew (with the bike over me, because the automatic shoes) I landed with my shoulder, my backpack and finally smashed the back of my head into the ledge of the street. Luckily for me I always wear a helmet, part of riding breakless is that you never forget your helmet, or decided not to use it, you know what you are riding.


IMG_6496.JPG


Anyway, I was fine, just a couple of scratches on my shoulder and elbow, and a big scary story to tell lol, but what hurled me more was the material damages, you know, when you realize you are fine, when I could literally died if I wasn't wearing a helmet, you start to see the other damages as a more dramatic way. For example, I trashed my t-shirt, my backpack, also my can of weed was smashed even it is made of metal. Also my computer got some damages too, it bend a bit so it kinda close real bad, the screen got some cracks and black things in some random places, and also it got a couple of scratches. But you know, at least it works perfect, nothing serious in performance and usability.


IMG_6492.JPG


IMG_6493.JPG


IMG_6497.JPG


So if you ride a bike, use a helmet, you never know when an accident like this could happen, I was riding perfectly and a flat tire almost killed me, some I could have never be able to control. When ever you think you are safe, because you doble check everything, and you are riding a brand new bike that its not gonna have some random failures, use a helmet, and also don't ride with a Macbook on your backpack, thats my personal lesson.

Sort:  

omg!! I'm so glad you're ok!!!!

your poor weed can tho... ;)

xoxo

lol indeed, its totally wasted, lucky for me Im better than the can :)

Be careful next time, wear a helmet!

thankfully I always use my old skate helmet, I think its time to improve and buy a new one.

Woow man! Didn't know about that... Thanks you are fine! and WTF the Mac!

Thanks bro, yes it was a big bail, but Im fine, my poor little Mac, hope @ned up vote me so I can buy a new one so I can keep steeming :) hehe

That's could be awesome ha! Glad you are fine man...

Glad it wasn't crazy bad and you survived.
I hear sunset is the worst time for visibility.

It was getting dark, but the road have so many lights, I can't guess if it was my distraction or a simple wheel failure

Yikes! Glad you're okay, please take care! Hopefully you'll have smoother journeys from now on. Your poor items though D:

My poor items indeed, that was kinda weird cause I had a glass can in my backpack and its perfect lol, guess it was trapped in a hoodie or something.

that glass sure is lucky LOL.

Good things for helmets!

New Mac book or weed can first?

haha wish I could buy a new Mac, or at least replace the display, unfortunately here a new Mac like mine costs around $2800 ( retina 13" early 2015, yes its pretty expensive here, I brought mine from the us for $1400) so I guess I will get some candy to get a new can lol

Damn, I figured US was the worst for Mac prices. Try eBay for a new screen, Mac's are 10x's easier to switch screens in than a Windows laptop. That is as long as the case isn't bent.

I saw on amazon an entire display for $399 and watched a video to see how it was to change it, it doesn't look complicated at all, Iwas trying to sell some crypto to buy a new one, I know is not the best to cash out right now but I kinda need extra money to cover this, I think the lower part of case is bent, for how it close.

I perfectly understand your feelings! I myself constantly so risk, when I sit down on my bicycle. It's good that you stayed alive, and you can repair the bike!

You got a 7.79% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @fivefiveeleven!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Hola ! @fiveliveeleven, creo que te quedaste dormido por milésima de segundos... bueno gracias a Dios todo bien.@lisfabian.

Luckily no big injuries! Ride safe for the future dude :-) And don`t forget your helmet

Loading...