Allergic To Regular Soap? The Reasonable Alternative Is Easy To Make!

in #life6 years ago

My Soap Container For My Own Soap Without Allergens

Like a lot of people, some days it seems like I am allergic to everything. There are lots of soaps out there that I can use, but they are expensive.  This is a frugal answer to a major issue. Homesteading is about self-sufficiency and this meets that goal nicely. This is an easy recipe, it works, and I have no issues using it. 

 

BASIC LAUNDRY POWDER

(works best in warm or hot wash water)

½ cup soap flakes or grated plain bar soap....I use those big wash bars for washing clothes from Walmart that are found near the washing soda and borax.  There is a white bar and a pink bar, both work equal.

½ cup borax

½ cup washing soda

1. Combine ingredients well, and store in a jar with an airtight lid.

2. Use ½ to 1 tablespoon per load. Use a little more for extra large loads and double for extra dirty loads.

My container is quite large, so I triple the recipe.
I mainly use cold water for my skirts and sweaters, so I run a little warm water in the washer and add soap. When dissolved, I continue using only cold water and it is not enough warm water to have any effect on the wash water temperature. 

This washing powder lasts a long time and comes out much cheaper than buying special detergents. I also sometimes make my own soap bars and add essential oils of my choice.  This adds a scent to the laundry. The other awesome point is that it makes up in minutes, for the busy homemaker. Enjoy the frugal life on the homestead!

 Shalom Shalom 

Marla Silva @ floridagypsy   

Sort:  

It's economical and very practical, I'll definitely give it a try ! ;)

• Great post @floridagypsy, your post has been resteemed by @educ.leb, @minitnow & @resteemyourpost to over +1500 followers !•

@educ.leb, @minitnow & @resteemyourpost Upvoted & Followed you! •

• Send 0.5 SBD/STEEM to @resteemyourpost or @educ.leb or @minitnow With Post URL On Memo| You will Be Followed,Upvoted & Resteemed by 3 accounts to over +1500 followers ! •

Oh lovely pic thanks for the share dear friend

Thanks for the awsome info. What a good idea

Thanks for reading @kamimorrow.

Home remedies are the best good for your health and less expensive and also close to nature . Good remedy nice post . Upvote and follow . Regards

a very good post, I like posting @floridagypsy

I like that container! I also make my own because of the smells of all the chemicals much less the reaction from them on my skin.

I found that the few minutes it takes to make all my products are the only way to go. Thanks for reading @weetreebonsai. The container I either found at Walmart or Target. I think I was online, but could have been in the store.

I mix mine up for about 6 months to a year. I will have to go online and see if I can find one like it.

I mix mine for 6 months to a year also and that is why I needed a large can. It has about a quarter cup size scoop in it, but I have never used more than 1/8 or half a scoop. I will go look in my order history and if I find it, I will post the link here @weetreebonsai.

I guess I ordered it from Amazon @weetreebonsai. Here is the link for the can: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B019GQ4C4S/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

When I clicked on it, it seems it is no longer available. They showed other products and I saw the same thing in cream from a different store.

Thank You very much!
Is this the right product? Citronella Candles Scented Soy Wax 3 Wick Tin, 70 Hour Burn, Natural Mosquito Repels, Outdoor and Indoor

Crazy, last night I clicked on it and it came up right. Try this link. https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=metal+washing+soda+box+6.4+quart

This worked a minute a go. Hope it lasts till you see it. It is different seller and in cream.

This post has received a 9.93% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @floridagypsy. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Thank you very much.

very useful to learn this Mam @floridagypsy..thanks for sharing

Thanks for reading and upvoting @jerelyn.

Wow gonna try this one :) Thank you @floridagypsy for sharing this

Your always welcome @marylizacaindoy. Every chance we get to reduce costs, helps us meet other goals.

I started making my own soap years ago, but I do the liquid form.
I had three kids at home, two of them playing sports and the cost of laundry soap was ridiculous.

I was doing laundry almost daily when my daughters had basketball and volleyball practices and games.

To this day, my youngest daughter makes her own also for her family.

Would you like to share your recipe @goldendawne for those who prefer the liquid? Thanks for reading.

I am allergic to regular soap so I use shampoo for the body, borax can be replaced by bicarbonate, both do regularly the common soap ph

@psicmarynes, I use washing soda and Borax, but if the water is really hard, I add a small amount of bicarbonate soda or Baking Soda. That is not the same as Washing Soda. Alot just depends on what you can handle. My shampoos I make also, so as to keep the chemicals out.