Do you know where the white deer have gone?

in #life7 years ago

Lately the white deer at the old army depot have been lying low...

Seneca Army Depot white deer BrianAdler wikipedia

...or maybe they are not around anymore since I haven't seen em for months.


Do you know about the herd of white deer at the seneca army depot?

According to wikipedia "The Seneca White Deer are a rare herd of deer living within the confines of the former Seneca Army Depot in Seneca County, New York. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seneca_white_deer

History of the white deer

The first white deer, a buck and a fawn, were spotted in the Depot in 1949. After the first white deer siting, protection from the US Army resulted in more white deer and the proportion of white deer gradually increased.
http://senecawhitedeer.org/white-deer-natural-resources/white-deer-seneca-army-depot/


The white deer of Seneca Army Depot are leucistic.©Dennis Money

Back in June 2016 the decommisioned former army base's remaining 7000 acres was sold to
Seneca Falls businessman Earl Martin.

"He said he will set aside at least 1,500 acres in the northern part of the property in the town of Varick for the herd, which is currently numbers less than 85."
http://www.newyorkupstate.com/outdoors/2016/06/winning_bidder_for_former_seneca_army_depot_pledges_to_save_white_deer.html

The herd is much smaller than in former years, I guess this is why I haven't seen them in a while.

So as I drove by today peering out the window of the car, eyes glued to the passing scenery camera in hand, ready to snap that photo at the slightest siting of the deer, I ended up snapping a picture of this old tree...hey it caught my eye!old tree

Hold on what is that I see? Hey they are still here!!!white deer

Hey...I'm not going to be dissapointed cause I know they are still here!

Sort:  

Those white deer would be startling to see out in the wild! I can appreciate that they would have to be protected, or they would be hunted so easily. I hope you get to see some of them soon.