Opinionitis - inflammtion of the persona - 1

in #life6 years ago

Psychology Emotion Movement Communication GIF-downsized_large.gif

Introduction
I have been trying to write with a “zen-like” perspective about human emotions, why we form beliefs. The impact that has on our ability to focus and on the quality of the actions we do end up taking.

Those of you who have read and practiced Zen , will perhaps allow me to suggest, that it “invites”a state of being and seeing without forming opinions or even preferences. It shares the possibility of not taking anything personally. Wether or not that is valid, could also be, yet another opinion, so lets just leave it there for now :)

Setting the scene.

Recently, I noticed, once again how opinionated I had become, and the effect that was having on my relationships, (and my writing ). So I made the following decisions:

"Today I am going to listen to what others have to say, allowing them to “feel” the quality of appreciation in the attention that I do offer".

"I am going to do this, NOT because I want them to like me. I chose this because I respect that everyone has a unique and valid perspective and that they may be able to relax and “feel” better when they are less tense".

"I enjoy sharing space with people that are more relaxed and fully alive to their senses. I could aim for this to enrich my own life, or I could release even that desire for personal benefit. Simply trusting the process without measuring it for gain or efficacy.

What are some of your Experiences?
How many of you have also began your day with similar intentions of being respectful?
How long were you able to maintain it for?
What actually happened?

Sort:  

"I am going to do this, NOT because I want them to like me. I chose this because I respect that everyone has a unique and valid perspective and that they may be able to relax and “feel” better when they are less tense".

"I enjoy sharing space with people that are more relaxed and fully alive to their senses. I could aim for this to enrich my own life, or I could release even that desire for personal benefit. Simply trusting the process without measuring it for gain or efficacy.

I love what you said up there and well i'm also going to begin my day with similar intentions of being respectful towards others and let's see how that goes.
My day just got started, yeah.😊

Awesome, please do update how it goes and what you learn

Sure i would, i've found a new source of inspiration in you now.
I'm glad i found you today sir/ma'am which are you please, lolz

Thank you, I am looking forward to hear how your day goes, so that I can learn from YOU also :)

😊

@freemoceanisnow lovely quote..it's a very good quote relating to human emotions.

Sometimes Its good to take advice from other people and if i LIKE their advice then i follow it after thinking about it hundreds of time. Its common that people keep giving free opinions at every point of life. But in my opinion i follow only if i feel its good and if i cant then i go my own way.

I am trying to gather experiences and let go of beliefs.
This keeps me more in my aliveness and less in my head.

I still notice the urge to "correct" or "educate" people - that is the price I pay for holding too tightly to ideas for personal gain.

It really can make me such an asshole lol..

I agree with you, other people have so much to offer, when I am able to really listen to them - thank you!

@freemoceanisnow
Love your content.

Well said...your blog give us positive thinking for life .
Yes I have just started my day with positive intention for life .....let's see what's going on today .

I will give my feedback later .

Thanks for sharing such a nice post.