You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Choose to be grateful and choose the right things to be grateful for.

in #life6 years ago

Haha, thanks mate, I appreciate the comments. We compliment each other and yes, I am lucky to have captured her interest and heart. It seemed easy to do I guess but maybe it was just that we knew we were right for each other straight away.

"Guns and Aussie life thing..." That comment made me laugh @biffybirdcam. I am a Business Development Manager for a large commercial and residential real estate company and wear suits to work. If only my colleagues knew what I did on the weekends huh? I love the outdoors life and my country so I spend a lot of my time engaging with it by off-roading, kayaking, hunting, hiking, shooting, travelling etc. I do that with my wife as well, except not the hunting part. She hates that.

If you feel you have found the one you gotta hang onto that, nurture it. Sometimes love creeps up like a rising tide and sometimes it comes on rapidly like a wave crashing onto the shore, there's no right or wrong way. There is just love, in its many different forms: Spouse, sibling, parent, friend etc...

As a young kid I used to feel some jealousy when people checked out my wife (then girlfriend) and my mum said to me once, "love is like a butterfly in your hand. Hold on to tight and you'll crush it, not tight enough and it'll fly away." She told me that when I was 18. Thirty years later she is gone but I haven't forgotten her words. I still feel a pang of jealousy at times but it's different now...I can't explain it. I guess I am comfortable in our partnership and the strength of our bond.

The younger generation have some challenges to face for sure. Narcissism, selfishness, materialism, impatience and a myriad of other things as well but in truth we all face those challenges which can creep in from time to time. I think people have to decide who they want to be and what they want from their life and then do the best job they can and doing it. Sounds simple, but isn't.

You hold on to that girl dude, in @kelsnm you have the most precious and irreplaceable thing.

Thanks for your comments bro.

Sort:  

If my upvote had more power you'd still get a 100% for that...

Sometimes your words bring a literal tear to my eye from the knee jerk emotional reaction i get from reading them. Thank you for your encouragement and all wisdom you confer to me, a stranger, but less and less.

You have such a strong positive vibe, full of love and knowledge and wisdom about you, man.